skip to content
Primary navigation
Feature image for Eligible Carriers

Eligible Carriers

Eligible Telecommunications Carriers (ETCs)

Initial ETC Designation

Telecommunications carriers must be designated as Eligible Telecommunications Carriers (ETCs) to qualify for support from the Federal Universal Service Fund. The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (PUC) grants ETC designations to qualified applicants. 

Petitions for ETC status should include, at a minimum, a demonstration that the applicant meets the requirements of Federal Communications Commission Rule 47 C.F.R §54.201and include a demonstration that the requested designation is in the public interest. Petitions must also comply with previous PUC orders.

Annual ETC Reporting Requirements

ETCs that Receive High Cost Support

Each year, for each compliant ETC, the PUC files a certification with the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC) and the Federal Communications Commission stating that the federal high-cost support provided to that ETC was used in the preceding calendar year and will be used in the coming calendar year only for the provision, maintenance and upgrading of facilities and services for which the support is intended.

All ETCs that receive high cost support must annually file the reports and certifications required by Rule 47 C.F.R. §54.313 .

High cost reports and certifications must be filed with the FCC and the PUC by July 1, of each year.

ETCs that Receive Low Income Support Only

ETCs that receive low income support only must file the reports and certifications required by Rule 47 C.F.R. §54.422 annually. 

back to top