This section contains information and resources for applicants seeking licensure in Minnesota. Please click one of the menu options to the left for more information about the different services we offer to our applicants. You are also welcome to contact us by phone at 612-617-2230 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org
Criminal Background Checks (CBC)
AS OF JUNE 1, 2015, A CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK IS REQUIRED FOR ALL INITIAL LICENSES, GUEST LICENSES, AND RE-LICENSURE APPLICATIONS
Minnesota law requires applicants for initial licensure, licensure by endorsement, or reinstatement or other re-licensure after lapse in licensure, submit to a criminal history records check of state data compiled by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) and a national criminal history records check, including a search of the records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Minn. Stat. 214.075, subd. 1(a).
The Board may not issue a license to any applicant who refuses to consent to a criminal background check or fails to submit fingerprints within 90 days after submission of an application for licensure. Minn. Stat. 214.075, subd. 4(a). Failure to submit to a criminal background check is grounds for disciplinary action by the Board. Id. at subd. 4(b).
You will need to pay the fee for your Criminal Background Check. Consent forms will be provided to you by CBC Program staff once your application is submitted and all fees are paid. Applicants must complete and submit Criminal Background Check Informed Consent Forms to the CBC Program staff. Once fees are paid, and consent forms submitted, applicants must have their fingerprints taken.
Fingerprints can be obtained in two ways:
At the Board Offices (Electronically)
MN HLB Criminal Background Check Program
2829 University Avenue SE, Suite 555
Minneapolis, MN 55414
At a Law Enforcement Office (Ink)
Local law enforcement locations. Fingerprinting locations in Minnesota: http://myfbireport.com/locations/lawEnforcement/MN.php
Once the fingerprints are complete, applicants and licensees must return the fingerprint card to the MN HLB CBC Program staff for processing.
Applicants and licensees are required to submit the fee for the criminal history check directly to the Board. The fee for the report is $32 and it's subject to change at the discretion of the BCA and the FBI. Fees for the criminal records background check are set by the BCA and the FBI and are nonrefundable. Minn. Stat. 214.075, subd. 3(c).
Applicants and licensees are responsible for any fees associated with obtaining fingerprints which vary by location.
Criminal history records check data obtained by the Board is only valid for one year. Please plan accordingly, if you have not yet completed your post-doctoral supervised employment experience, you will need to have your CBC completed closer to the time of licensure to ensure valid results.
Prior to taking disciplinary action against an applicant or licensee based on a criminal conviction, the Board shall provide an opportunity to challenge the accuracy of the report. Minn. Stat. 214.075, subd. 7.