skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter


2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT)
Subject: Counselors
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:14:26 PM
Modification Date: 3/12/2024 3:45:55 PM
Agency Name: Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT), Minnesota Board of
Agency URL:
Agency Description: The mission of the Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy is to protect the public through effective licensure and enforcement of the statutes and rules governing its licensees to ensure a standard of competent and ethical practice. The purpose of licensure of certain professions is specified in Minn. Stats. Chapter 214. The law indicates that the purpose of licensure is to protect the safety and well being of the citizens of the State of Minnesota.
Agency Phone: 651-201-2756
Agency Fax: 612-617-2187
Agency URL:
Agency Address:
335 Randolph Ave., Suite 290

St. Paul
Division Name: Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC/LPCC)
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Email
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s):
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:


Apply for LPC

Apply for LPCC


Apply for a Temporary Permit

Apply to be a Board Approved Supervisor

Exam Information

Rules: 2150.0050 - .7610

Statutes: 148B.50


See Apply for LPC


Application and Other Fees

All fees submitted to the Board are non-refundable and must be submitted with an Application for Licensure. Download the Application form and submit via mail with a check or money order. 

 Fees                                                                                                                                                              Fees

Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) application fee, ($150) and initial license fee ($250)            $400

Criminal Background Check fee                                                                                                                    $33.25

Total Fees                                                                                                                                     $433.25

Note: An applicant is exempt from submitting to a Criminal Background Check if the applicant has previously submitted a state or national criminal history records check for a license issued by BBHT. If this applies to you, Please make your check or money order payable to the BBHT for $400 instead of $433.25. 

Period of Issuance:

Licenses are issued on the first day of the month following the approval of the application. Licenses must be renewed annually, one day before the license issue anniversary date.

Length of Determination: Not defined. The board will hold incomplete applications open indefinitely.
Other Info:
Activity: Professional Counselors (LPC)
License Detail URL:

Apply for LPC Licensure

Online Services

License Lookup

Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT), Minnesota Board of

back to top