Among other things, doctors of chiropractic are authorized to perform rehabilitative therapies which may be done to prepare a patient for chiropractic adjustment or complement the chiropractic adjustment. Examples of rehabilitative therapies are heat, ice, water, exercise, nutrition and meridian therapy. Meridian therapy includes, among other things, acupuncture. However, before a doctor of chiropractic can perform acupuncture, they must be properly registered with the Board.
In 1995, Minn. Stat. § 147B.02 was enacted regarding acupuncture. This statute was designed to apply to all other persons who were engaging in the practice of acupuncture, requiring them to become registered with the Board of Medical Practice. This statute specifically exempted doctors of chiropractic from this registration requirement, provided they were properly registered under the Board of Chiropractic Examiners, and that they were using the acupuncture to prepare the patient for chiropractic adjustment or complement the chiropractic adjustment. Any doctor of chiropractic who wishes to perform acupuncture without also providing chiropractic care to a patient, may do so provided they are appropriately registered under the Board of Medical Practice.
A doctor of chiropractic wishing to become registered to perform acupuncture in conjunction must submit an Acupuncture Initial Application. An application may also be acquired calling the board office at 651-201-2850.
In order for a doctor of chiropractic to be eligible to perform acupuncture in conjunction with their practice, they must show evidence of 100 hours of acupuncture related education consisting of at least 85% classroom/hands-on, or submit an affidavit stating that they have a specified amount of education and experience. In addition, they must pass the Acupuncture Examination administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners, or the examination administered by the National Certification Commission on Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM). For more information see Minn. Rules 2500.3000, Subd.2.
If any part of the above information conflicts with the Minnesota rules or laws, the rules or laws take precedence. (See Statute and Rules) It is your responsibility to understand and comply with the regulations. Call the Board office at 651-201-2850 if you have any questions.
How to Apply
Application forms are available from the Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners and are available at Forms and by calling the Board office at 651-201-2850.
Initial Registration fee - $100
Annual Active Renewal Fee - $50
Annual Inactive Renewal fee - $25
Annual (September 16 to September 15 of each year).