skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA) License
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota State Board of Physical Therapy
Subject: Physical Therapy Practice
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:16:08 PM
Modification Date: 1/9/2024 3:54:17 PM
Agency Name: Physical Therapy, Minnesota State Board of
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/boards/physical-therapy/
Agency Description: The Minnesota State Board of Physical Therapy serves to ensure that Minnesota citizens receive appropriate physical therapy services from competent physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. Public protection is accomplished through licensing and disciplining of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants.
Agency Phone: 612-627-5406
Agency Fax: 612-627-5403
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/boards/physical-therapy/
Agency Address:
335 Randolph Avenue, Suite 285

St. Paul
MN
55102
Unit Name: Email
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s): Physical.therapy@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL: https://phy.hlb.state.mn.us/#/login
Renewal URL: https://phy.hlb.state.mn.us/#/login
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Review

PTA Licensure

 

License Renewal

See also the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), for more information regarding the national examination program. 


Rules: 5601.0100 - .3200

Statutes: 148.65

Forms:
 
 
 
 

Temporary Permits for New PTA Grads

Temporary permits to practice physical therapy are available for new graduates before they have taken the NPTE (exam) after the following steps have been completed.

  1. Board has received completed application and all supported documentation.
  2. Board has also approved applicant to take NPTE (exam) and has notified FSBPT. (Reminder applicants must also register separately for exam with FSBPT
  3. FSBPT has notified applicant with “Authorization to Test” letter.
  4. Applicant has scheduled an exam date with Prometric Testing Centers.
  5. Temporary permit form and fee have been received by the Board.
  6. Applicant has notified Board of test confirmation number from Prometric and exam date.
  7. Please note: Temporary permit issue and expiration dates are related to the exam date you select.
    See chart. “Temporary Permits for PTA New Graduates in 2024

This permit allows applicants to practice physical therapy under direct, immediate, and on premise supervision. It may be granted once and cannot be renewed.

Temporary Permits for PTAs Licensed/Registered in Another State
A temporary permit is available to applicants (who are licensed in another state) who meet all the requirements for licensure and wish to practice before the Board grants final approval. In order for a temporary permit to be granted, the file for permanent licensure must be complete, and a completed temporary permit application form and $25 fee must be received by the Board. The temporary permit is valid from the date of approval until the next Board meeting at which a decision is made on the licensure application. The temporary permit is valid only for practice under direct, immediate, and on premises supervision of approved MN physical therapists. Temporary permits can be paid with check or money order in the amount of $25 written to the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy.

Application and instructions for Physical Therapist Assistant License is available at PTA Licensure


Fees:

Application Fees

Fees are non-refundable; even if it is determined that you are not eligible for licensure. Fees may be paid via credit card with submission of an online application or check or money order with submission of paper application. Check must be made payable to the MN Board of Physical Therapy.

Permanent Licensure Application Fee: $100.00 (Required of all applicants) This fee must be paid online or sent with your completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Annual Licensure Fee: $60.00 (Required of all applicants) This fee must be paid online or sent with a completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Criminal Background Check Fee: $33.25 (Required of all applicants) This fee must be paid online or sent with a completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Exam Application Processing Fee: $50 (Required for new grads testing for a MN license) This fee must be paid online or sent with a completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Temporary Permit Fee: $25.00 (optional) This fee must be paid with a check or money order made payable to the MN Board of Physical Therapy and sent with a completed Temporary Permit application form. Form and Fee may be submitted at any time during the application process. Fee is non-refundable. 


Period of Issuance:

Annual, based on a calendar year.


Length of Determination: 2 to 4 weeks.
Other Info:
Activity: Physical Therapy, Practice of
License Detail URL:

Physical Therapy, Minnesota Board of

Verify a License

Minnesota State Board of Physical Therapy


back to top