skip to content
Primary navigation

What is the National Register?

The National Register of Historic Places (National Register) is the official list of the nation's cultural resources worthy of preservation. Properties listed in the National Register include districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, and culture and which possess integrity of location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling, and association.

The National Register program, directed by the National Park Service, is administered in each state by its State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO). Nominations for listing a property on the National Register may be initiated by the SHPO or by private individuals and organizations. However, nominations must be submitted through the SHPO.

The nomination serves to make the case for the property's significance. If the State Historic Preservation Review Board (State Review Board) determines that the property meets National Register criteria, the nomination is sent to the Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer for signature and then to the Keeper of the National Register in Washington, D.C., for final review and approval.

Listing a Property in the National Register

The process for preparing a National Register program nomination.

Criteria for Evaluation

Nominations to the historic register are considered under several criteria.

National Register Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions for the National Register program

back to top