skip to content
Primary navigation

National Historic Landmarks in Minnesota

National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are cultural properties designated by the Secretary of the Interior as being nationally significant. Acknowledged as among the nation's most significant historic places, these buildings, sites, districts, structures, and objects possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States in history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, and culture. NHL designation is an official recognition by the federal government of the significance of historic properties. By 1999, almost 2,300 properties had been designated as National Historic Landmarks.

By definition, the almost 2,300 properties designated as National Historic Landmarks are the most significant places in American history-they illustrate and commemorate our collective past and help us to understand our national identity. National Historic Landmarks outstandingly represent and interpret the best and brightest and the most tragic aspects of our history. Through these Landmarks, all American can better understand and appreciate the broad trends and events, important person, great ideas and ideal, and valuable accomplishments in the arts and sciences, and humanities, that are truly significant in our history.

Minnesota's National Historic Landmarks

back to top