skip to content
Primary navigation

Certified Local Government Program

This nationwide program helps local preservation groups transform themselves from grass-roots advocates to policymakers. A city, county or township with a qualifying heritage preservation ordinance and commission (HPC) may become a Certified Local Government (CLG) by applying to the SHPO.

CLG status enables the local government to apply for federal matching grants to preserve historic properties. This local-state-federal partnership encourages the integration of historic preservation into local government policy.

CLG Responsibilities

  • Establish and maintain a qualified HPC.
  • Maintain a system for identifying historic properties.
  • Enforce appropriate legislation for the designation and protection of historic properties.
  • Provide for public participation in the local preservation program.
  • Play an expanded role in nominating properties to the National Register.
  • Perform other agreed-upon functions delegated by the SHPO.

How to Apply

See the Minnesota Certified Local Government Procedures Manual (pdf).

Sample Ordinance

Our Sample Ordinance (PDF) can be adopted and used by local governments and meets the requirements for the Certified Local Government Program.

back to top