How to obtain a notarized document:
1. Make a photocopy of the document (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc).
2. Take the photocopy along with the original document to a Notary.
3. The Notary will look at the original document and the photocopy.
4. The Notary will sign/stamp/seal the photocopy and write a statement to the effect that they have viewed the original and this is an exact copy. Some Notaries will attach a paper (with a similar statement, signature/stamp/seal) to the copy.
Most states will require verification of your Minnesota license. The fee for a Certification/Verification letter is $25.00 per recipient. Active licensees may request and pay for a Certification/Verification online using your online license account with your username and password. A Visa or Mastercard is required for payment. If your license is inactive or has been cancelled for non renewal you will have to submit a written request to the Board via postal mail.
FSBPT (Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy) provides the transfers of exam scores. http://www.fsbpt.org
Electronic score transfers are generally available for exams taken since 1987. If you took the licensing exam prior to 1991 you will need to also contact the State which authorized you to test for the exam (usually the State which granted your 1st PT or PTA license) and obtain your candidate ID# and exact date of the exam. You will need this information to request a score transfer.
If you tested for Minnesota then please call 612.627.5406 and we will look up your information.
If you misplace, lose or damage your license you may request a replacement by completing a request for wall certificate replacement and submitting the $20.00 fee.
If you misplace, lose or damage the renewal certificate card you may request a replacement by completing a request for renewal card replacement and submitting the $20.00 fee.
Your official transcript must be submitted for final licensure. Please have an official transcript sent AFTER the degree grated date is posted and have it mailed directly from your school to the Board office. New graduates - your degree granted date will not post until after your official graduation. Please see the Application Instructions for documents/information required by the board to approve applicants to test.
Your Criminal Background Check must be complete for final licensure. Please see the Application Instructions for documents/information required by the board to approve applicants to test.
Each licensed physical therapist must complete at least 20 contact hours of continuing education credit every two years as a condition of licensure renewal. 2.0 of these 20 hours must be on ethics directly related to the professional responsibility of the licensee. Newly licensed physical therapists commence their two year cycle on January 1 immediately following the date licensure was granted, and continuing education credits may be accrued during the first partial year in addition to the two full years of licensure. Licensees are required to attest to completion of continuing education by reporting to the Board at renewal time. Continuing education documentation must be retained by each licensee in the event they are selected for an audit.