Skip to:



Larry Shellito

Commissioner Shellito.jpg

Retired Major General Larry Shellito was appointed as the 17th Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs (MDVA) in January 2011. As commissioner, Shellito is charged with assisting the state’s 370,000 Veterans and their families. He also represents the Department at hearings before the Minnesota Legislature and United States Congress, and maintains close working relationships with the Veterans' Service Organizations of Minnesota.

Commissioner Shellito recently retired as the Adjutant General of the Minnesota National Guard. During his seven years in that position, Major General Shellito helped build a national reputation for the Guard, which is the nation’s fifth largest with more than 14,000 members in 63 facilities across Minnesota. He was instrumental in establishing the nation-leading "Beyond the Yellow Ribbon Program” in Minnesota to reintegrate service members following deployments. Before accepting the post of Adjutant General, Commissioner Shellito served as President of Alexandria Technical & Community College in Alexandria, Minn.

Commissioner Shellito began his military career in 1968 when he enlisted in the United States Army, where his active duty service included serving in Vietnam as a Mobile Advisory Team Leader. In 1973, he joined the Minnesota Army National Guard, where he served for 37 years until his retirement in 2010. His awards and decorations include the Distinguished Service Medal, Legion of Merit, Bronze Star and Combat Infantryman’s Badge among many others. Commissioner Shellito holds an Education Doctorate from the University of Minnesota, and a Master’s and two undergraduate degrees from Minnesota State University Moorhead. He is also a graduate of the U.S. Army War College.


Deputy Commissioner of Programs and Services

Reggie Worlds

Reggie Worlds.jpg

Deputy Commissioner Reggie Worlds was appointed to his current position in April 2010. He is responsible for all MDVA Programs and Services, including Claims, Outreach, Benefits, Veterans Preference, the State Veterans Cemetery, the Minnesota Veterans Higher Education Program and the State Approving Agency.

Since joining the MDVA team in 2004, Worlds served in several different positions, including Senior Director of Programs and Services, Director of Claims and Outreach, Supervisor of the MDVA/American Legion Claims Office and as the Veterans Outreach Coordinator. He was instrumental in building the Department’s Outreach Program, which focuses on providing advocacy to underserved Veteran populations, including female Veterans, homeless Veterans and communities of color. Worlds started his career serving Veterans as a County Veterans Service Officer in Martin County. He also worked as an Assistant Veterans Service Officer in Hennepin County. He is a United States Army Veteran who served during the Persian Gulf War from 1985-1992.

Worlds holds a degree in law enforcement from Austin Community College and is a graduate of the State of Minnesota’s Emerging Leaders Institute. He is an accredited representative of several congressionally chartered Veterans’ Service Organizations and has completed U.S. VA Rater Board training with the St. Paul VA Regional Office. He is a member of the American Legion, Disabled American Veterans and AMVETS.


Deputy Commissioner of Veterans Health Care

Michael J. Gallucci

Michael Gallucci.jpg

Deputy Commissioner Michael J. Gallucci is responsible for oversight of MDVA’s five State Veterans Homes, located in Fergus Falls, Hastings, Luverne, Minneapolis and Silver Bay. The Veterans Homes Division provides a continuum of long-term care for its Residents, with a strong emphasis on remembering and recognizing the service and sacrifices of all Veterans. Our focus is on providing the excellent care and services that Minnesotans expect for our state’s military heroes. These five homes manage a combination of skilled nursing care beds, domiciliary care, rehabilitation, recreational therapy, work therapy and Alzheimer’s and dementia programs.

Gallucci is originally from Rochester, N.Y., but came to MDVA from Augusta, Ga. where he served as the Command Sergeant Major for the Warrior Transition Battalion and Wounded Warrior Program at Fort Gordon. During his military career Gallucci has served in the Navy, Army and Army Reserves. His active duty service included participation in Desert Shield/Desert Storm and Operation Joint Guardian - Macedonia/Kosovo. Gallucci retired from the military in March, 2012, after serving 35 years.

He recently completed the Minnesota Senior Leadership Institute through the Humphrey Center and is a graduate of the United States Army Sergeants Major Academy. He holds an Associates of Science Degree in Liberal Arts from Monroe Community College, and a Bachelor of Science in Liberal Arts in Community and Human Services, with a concentration in Administrative Law from Empire State University. Additionally, he has received certification in Executive Leadership, Business Leadership Skills, and Change Leadership from Cornell University. He is a lifetime member of the American Legion, Disabled American Veterans, VFW, and AMVETS.

MDVA Organizational Structure

Org Chart


The Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs was established in 1943 and falls under Minnesota Statutes , Chapters 196, 197, 198; Minnesota Rules , Chapter 9050. Listed below are the MDVA Commissioners, starting with present commissioner, Larry Shellito, to the first commissioner, William Revier.

The Minnesota Veterans Homes were merged with MDVA in 2007. For more information please visit the Veterans Homes history page.

MDVA Commissioners from Present to Past

  • Larry Shellito, January 2011 to Present
  • Michael Pugliese, April 2010 to January 2011
  • Clark Dyrud, March 2005 to April 2010
  • Jeffery L. Olson, January 2001 to December 2004
  • Bernard R. Melter, January 1991 to January 2001
  • William Gregg, July 1983 to January 1991
  • James Main, March 1982 to July 1983
  • Chales Pinkham, January 1981 to February 1982
  • Donal M. Miller, January 1979 to October, 1980
  • Russell Green, March 1975 to January 1979
  • Elmer Childress, April 1971 to January 1975
  • Herbert Anderson, December 1969 to February 1971
  • Alcuin Loehr, February 1965 to April 1969
  • Robert G. Hansen, July 1961 to September 1964
  • Wilbur Lindholm, July 1959 to April 1961
  • Lyle Kinvig, April 1957 to May 1959
  • William Revier, July 1943 to March 1957