skip to content
Primary navigation


On this page you will find the latest press releases and statements from the Office of Governor Walz and Lieutenant Governor Flanagan.

Walz, Flanagan Announce Appointments

7/13/2021 12:09:43 PM

[ST. PAUL, MN] – Governor Tim Walz and Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan today announced the reappointments of Peggy Leppik, Stephen Swanson, and Faris Rashid to the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board (CFB).

“The Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board looks out for voters. Their work is critical to ensuring ethical and transparent elections,” said Governor Walz. “Peggy Leppik, Stephen Swanson, and Faris Rashid have demonstrated a strong commitment to public service, and I applaud the dedication of their time and talents to the important work of this Board.”

“Today’s appointees are deeply committed to the service of our communities,” said Lieutenant Governor Flanagan. “The Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board will continue to benefit from their skills, experience, and perspective as they work to ensure public servants act with integrity and honesty on behalf of all Minnesotans.”

The Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board is a crucial state regulatory agency. The Board administers programs that provide campaign finance disclosure for state elections, economic interest disclosure for state public officials and local officials in metropolitan governmental units, lobbyist registration and disclosure, and public subsidy payments to qualified state office candidates and political party committees. The Governor’s appointments return a quorum to the Board following the House and Senate’s recent noncompletion of the advice and consent process for these appointees by the statutory deadline.

About the Appointees:

Peggy Leppik – Golden Valley, MN
Former Republican Legislator
Effective: July 19, 2021
Expires: January 1, 2024

Peggy Leppik served as a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives from 1991 to 2003. During her service in the Minnesota House, she chaired the Higher Education Finance Committee. Following her tenure in the legislature, Representative Leppik’s service included serving as a member on the Metropolitan Council. Representative Leppik is an active member of both the Dean’s Advisory Council at the Humphrey School of Public Affairs and the Golden Valley Rotary Club Board of Directors. She received her B.A. in Sociology from Smith College. Representative Leppik has served on the Board since 2015.

Stephen Swanson – Minneapolis, MN
Effective: July 19, 2021
Expires: January 1, 2024

Stephen Swanson was a District Court Judge in the Fourth Judicial District until 2014. He currently serves as an arbitrator on the Minnesota Bureau of Mediation Services Peace Officer Grievance Arbitration Roster. He also volunteers with the Advocates for Human Rights and as a Minneapolis Public Housing Authority Section 8 housing choice voucher hearing officer through the Conflict Resolution Center. Judge Swanson has extensive experience with international law, including through his work as an International Judge in the Court of Bosnia and Herzegovina. He holds a B.A. from Miami University, a J.D. from the University of Cincinnati College of Law, and an LL.M. from New York University School of Law. Judge Swanson has served on the Board since 2017 and recently served as chair.

Faris Rashid – St. Paul, MN
Effective: July 19, 2021
Expires: January 2, 2023

Faris Rashid is a partner at Greene Espel PLLP where he specializes in cases related to technology, trade secrets, and intellectual property. Previously, Mr. Rashid clerked for Judge Ann D. Montgomery of the United States District Court and was an associate at Faegre Baker Daniels (now known as Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP). Mr. Rashid graduated with a B.A. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a J.D. from the University of Wisconsin Law School, where he graduated magna cum laude. He serves on the board of directors for the Hennepin County Bar Association and co-chairs the Hennepin County Bar Association Civil Section. After only six months into his service on the Board, Mr. Rashid was elected as the Board’s vice chair.

back to top