skip to content
Primary navigation


Welcome to the Office of Governor Walz and Lt. Governor Flanagan Newsroom. Here you will find our latest press releases, statements, and other information. Please visit for audio recordings of all press conferences.

Governor Walz Announces Appointments

11/19/2020 11:45:08 AM

[ST. PAUL, MN] – Today, Governor Tim Walz, Chief Justice Lorie Gildea, and Attorney General Keith Ellison announced the reappointment of Minnesota House Speaker Melissa Hortman, Kimberly Lowe, and Dean Garry Jenkins to the Commission on Uniform State Laws. The three appointees will serve terms beginning on November 19, 2020 expiring on May 31, 2021.

About the Appointees

Speaker Melissa Hortman

Speaker Hortman has served in the Minnesota Legislature since 2004 and has served as Speaker of the House since 2019. She currently serves as chair of the Select Committee on Minnesota’s Pandemic Response and Rebuilding. She received her B.A. from Boston University, her M.P.A. from Harvard University, and her J.D. from the University of Minnesota.

Kimberly Lowe

Kim is a lawyer with Avisen Legal and serves as Avisen Legal’s CFO and COO. She received her B.A. from the University of Detroit and her J.D. from Boston College Law School. She serves in many capacities with the Minnesota State Bar Association, including leadership of the MSBA Business Law Section and the Investment Committee. She is also active with the American Bar Association, where she served for 7 years on the ABA Standing Committee on Pro Bono and Community Services.

Garry Jenkins

Garry is the dean of the University of Minnesota Law School, where he also teaches law with a focus on law and philanthropy, corporate governance, and leadership studies. He received his B.A. from Haverford College, his master’s degree in public policy from the Harvard Kennedy School, and his J.D. from Harvard Law School. He serves on the boards for Haverford College and the Guthrie Theater.

About the Commission on Uniform State Laws

The Commission on Uniform State Laws studies and provides recommendations and drafting services for uniform acts around the country. The Commission consists of the Revisor of Statutes and three members appointed by the Governor, Chief Justice, and Attorney General. Commissioners represent Minnesota at the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws and other similar conventions.

back to top