skip to content
Primary navigation


Welcome to the Office of Governor Walz and Lt. Governor Flanagan Newsroom. Here you will find our latest press releases, statements, and other information. 

Governor Walz Appointed to Serve on President’s Council of Governors

Council members advise the Administration on issues of homeland security related to the National Guard and civil support missions. As a 24-year veteran of the Army National Guard, Walz emphasizes commitment to improve national security.

2/22/2019 1:08:03 PM

[ST. PAUL, MN] – Governor Tim Walz announced today his appointment to the Council of Governors by the President of the United States. The Council, which consists of 10 bipartisan governors, is responsible for advising the Secretary of Defense, Secretary of Homeland Security, and the White House Homeland Security Council on matters related to the National Guard and civil support missions. Governor Tim Walz served nearly 25 years in the Army National Guard. Achieving the rank of Command Sergeant Major, he was the highest-ranking enlisted service member ever to serve in Congress.

“I am honored to work with this bipartisan group of governors to strengthen the state-federal partnership on homeland security and protect our country against danger,” Governor Tim Walz said. “As a 24-year veteran of the Army National Guard, I will be a strong voice at the table for Minnesotans and will work tirelessly to improve our national defense.”

About the Council of Governors

The Council consists of 10 governors, not to exceed five from each party ,appointed by the President for a two year term, which can be extended at the discretion of the President. Governor Mark Dayton also served on the Council of Governors from 2015 to 2019.

In addition to the governors, federal participants include the secretaries of defense and homeland security, the President’s homeland security and counterterrorism advisors, the commander of U.S. Northern Command, the commandant of the Coast Guard and the chief of the National Guard Bureau. While not designated as official members of the Council, other key federal officials such as the Administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are also regular participants.

The Council members include:

  • Governor Asa Hutchinson, Arkansas (Co-Chair)
  • Governor David Ige, Hawaii (Co-Chair)
  • Governor Doug Ducey, Arizona
  • Governor Ned Lamont, Connecticut
  • Governor J.B. Pritzker, Illinois
  • Governor Tim Walz, Minnesota
  • Governor Mike Parson, Missouri
  • Governor Steve Bullock, Montana
  • Governor Pete Ricketts, Nebraska
  • Governor Mike DeWine, Ohio
back to top