skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Cannabis -Multiple Licenses
Alternate Title:
Description:
Legislation created the framework for adult-use cannabis in Minnesota and established a new Office of Cannabis Management (OCM), which regulate cannabis (including for the adult-use market, the Medical Cannabis Program, and for lower-potency hemp edibles) and issue licenses and develop regulations outlining how and when businesses can participate in the industry.

Subject: Creation Date: 5/22/2023 5:34:48 PM
Modification Date: 6/10/2024 5:34:55 PM
Agency Name: Office of Cannabis Management (OCM), Minnesota
Agency URL: https://cannabis.state.mn.us/
Agency Description: The Office of Cannabis Management (OCM) will regulate cannabis (including for the adult-use market, the Minnesota Medical Cannabis Program, and for low-potency hemp edibles) and issue licenses and develop regulations outlining how and when businesses can participate in the industry.
Agency Phone: Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://cannabis.state.mn.us/
Agency Address:





Unit Name: Email
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s): cannabis.info@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Audience: Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:
The Office of Cannabis Management will release applications, issue licenses, and develop regulations outlining how and when businesses can participate in the new adult-use industry in Minnesota. Over the coming months, the new state agency will develop the regulatory framework for legal adult cannabis, and establish processes and timelines to apply for licenses.

Rulemaking Overview
The Office of Cannabis Management has begun drafting rules for the state's new cannabis industry. Learn more about the process and ways to stay engaged. 

Social Equity Applicants
Learn more about the steps to take if interested in qualifying under the social equity applicant preapproval process.

General Licenses
Get details about the opportunities available through the general license option and how to become prepared when applications for those licenses are open.

Businesses

Local Governments

Tribal Nations

Consumers

 


Rules:
Statutes:
Forms:
General Licenses

Application Process
The process for general licenses will be announced soon. In the meantime, OCM recommends preparing your proposed business plan, security plan, business capitalization table, and standard operating procedures for quality assurance; inventory control, storage, and diversion prevention; and accounting and tax compliance. This will help you be ready when the application period for general licenses opens.
 
OCM will provide additional materials to help guide you through all the steps. Watch for updates on timelines for general licensing.
 
Available license types

These are general descriptions of license types. More details will be available in guidance materials.
 
Application fees, initial licensing fees, and renewal licensing fees are nonrefundable.
 
Note: License types labeled with an asterisk are available for license preapproval for social equity applicants who meet requirements.
 
Cost: 
  • application fee $500 
  • no initial license fee 
  • renewal license fee $2,000 
Cannabis microbusinesses can grow, make, sell, and buy cannabis (including plants and seedlings) and lower-potency hemp products. They can also have on-site lounges where customers can use cannabis. These businesses can grow up to 5,000 square feet of cannabis plants indoors and up to one-half acre outdoors. This license may hold a cannabis event organizer license. 
 
Early cultivation opportunity: Social equity applicants with a preapproved cannabis microbusiness license and appropriate local approval may be allowed to grow cannabis plants under existing rules for medical cannabis cultivators and prior to adoption of adult-use rules.
 
Cost: 
  • application fee $5,000
  • initial license fee $5,000 
  • renewal license fee $10,000
Cannabis mezzobusinesses can grow, make, sell, and buy cannabis (including plants and seedlings) and lower-potency hemp products. Mezzobusinesses can grow up to 15,000 square feet of cannabis plants indoors and up to one acre outdoors. This license type is available in limited quantities, and licensees will be selected through a vetted lottery. 
 
Early cultivation opportunity: Social equity applicants with a preapproved cannabis mezzobusiness license and appropriate local approval may be allowed to grow cannabis plants under existing rules for medical cannabis cultivators and prior to adoption of adult-use rules.
 
Cost:  
  • application fee $10,000 
  • initial license fee $20,000 
  • renewal license fee $30,000
Cannabis cultivators can grow cannabis plants from seed to maturity. They can grow up to 30,000 square feet of cannabis plants indoors and two acres outdoors. Cultivators are allowed to harvest, package, label, and transport fully grown cannabis plants to manufacturers. They can also package, label, and transport seedlings. This license type is available in limited quantities, and licensees will be selected through a vetted lottery. 
 
Early cultivation opportunity: Social equity applicants with a preapproved cannabis cultivator license and appropriate local approval may be allowed to grow cannabis plants under existing rules for medical cannabis cultivators and prior to adoption of adult-use rules..
 
Cost: 
  • application fee $10,000 
  • initial license fee $10,000 
  • renewal license fee $20,000
Cannabis manufacturers process raw cannabis plants into various products, such as edibles, concentrates, wax, oils, and tinctures. Manufacturers can buy cannabis flowers, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products from other cannabis businesses. They turn these materials into cannabis products, then package and sell them to other cannabis businesses. This license type is available in limited quantities, and licensees will be selected through a vetted lottery.
 
Cost: 
  • application fee $2,500 
  • initial license fee $2,500 
  • renewal license fee $5,000
Cannabis retailers sell packaged cannabis products to the general public and medical patients. They can buy cannabis (including plants and seedlings) and lower-potency hemp products from other cannabis businesses and sell them to customers. This license type is available in limited quantities, and licensees will be selected through a vetted lottery. A cannabis retailer may operate up to five retail locations; however, no person, cooperative, or business may hold a license to own or operate more than one cannabis retail business in one city and three retail businesses in one county.

Cost: 
  • application fee $5,000 
  • initial license fee $5,000 
  • renewal license fee $10,000
Cannabis wholesalers buy cannabis, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products from cannabis businesses and then sell them to other cannabis business.

Cost: 
  • application fee $250 
  • initial license fee $500 
  • renewal license fee $1,000
Cannabis transporters are businesses that move cannabis, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products between businesses.

Cost: 
  • application fee $5,000 
  • initial license fee $5,000 
  • renewal license fee $10,000
Cannabis testing facilities receive cannabis, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products from manufacturers and cultivators to test. They ensure these products meet safety standards.

Cost: 
  • application fee $750 
  • initial license fee $750 
Cannabis event organizers plan and host events featuring cannabis, and may allow for the sale of cannabis, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products to consumers at events like festivals (an event cannot last more than four days). They can also provide spaces for consumers to use cannabis. An event organizer must receive local approval, including obtaining any necessary permits or licenses issued by a local unit of government.

Cost: 
  • application fee $250 
  • initial license fee $500
  • renewal license fee $1,000 
A cannabis delivery service purchase cannabis and lower-potency hemp products from specific cannabis businesses and sell and deliver those products directly to consumers.

Cost: 
  • application fee $250 
  • initial license fee $1,000
  • renewal license fee $1,000 
Lower-potency hemp edible manufacturers produce edibles from hemp. These manufacturers can create, package, and label lower-potency hemp products, and sell them to cannabis businesses. This license type cannot hold any cannabis business licenses.

Cost: 
  • application fee $250 per retail location
  • initial license fee $250 per retail location
  • renewal license fee $250 per retail location
Lower-potency hemp edible retailers sell packaged lower-potency hemp edibles to consumers. This license type cannot hold any cannabis business licenses.

Cost: 
  • application fee $10,000 
  • initial license fee $20,000 
  • renewal license fee $70,000 
Medical cannabis combination businesses can grow, manufacture, package, label, and sell cannabis products (including cannabis plants and seedlings) to both medical patients and adult consumers. These businesses can package and sell medical cannabis products to other eligible cannabis businesses. They are allowed to cultivate up to 60,000 square feet of medical cannabis plant canopy for distribution into the medical market, and depending upon the total amount of medical sales the year prior, up to an additional 30,000 square feet of cannabis plant canopy for distribution into the adult-use market.

Fees:
 
Cost: 
  • application fee $500 
  • no initial license fee 
  • renewal license fee $2,000 
Cannabis microbusinesses can grow, make, sell, and buy cannabis (including plants and seedlings) and lower-potency hemp products. They can also have on-site lounges where customers can use cannabis. These businesses can grow up to 5,000 square feet of cannabis plants indoors and up to one-half acre outdoors. This license may hold a cannabis event organizer license. 
 
Early cultivation opportunity: Social equity applicants with a preapproved cannabis microbusiness license and appropriate local approval may be allowed to grow cannabis plants under existing rules for medical cannabis cultivators and prior to adoption of adult-use rules.
 
Cost: 
  • application fee $5,000
  • initial license fee $5,000 
  • renewal license fee $10,000
Cannabis mezzobusinesses can grow, make, sell, and buy cannabis (including plants and seedlings) and lower-potency hemp products. Mezzobusinesses can grow up to 15,000 square feet of cannabis plants indoors and up to one acre outdoors. This license type is available in limited quantities, and licensees will be selected through a vetted lottery. 
 
Early cultivation opportunity: Social equity applicants with a preapproved cannabis mezzobusiness license and appropriate local approval may be allowed to grow cannabis plants under existing rules for medical cannabis cultivators and prior to adoption of adult-use rules.
 
Cost:  
  • application fee $10,000 
  • initial license fee $20,000 
  • renewal license fee $30,000
Cannabis cultivators can grow cannabis plants from seed to maturity. They can grow up to 30,000 square feet of cannabis plants indoors and two acres outdoors. Cultivators are allowed to harvest, package, label, and transport fully grown cannabis plants to manufacturers. They can also package, label, and transport seedlings. This license type is available in limited quantities, and licensees will be selected through a vetted lottery. 
 
Early cultivation opportunity: Social equity applicants with a preapproved cannabis cultivator license and appropriate local approval may be allowed to grow cannabis plants under existing rules for medical cannabis cultivators and prior to adoption of adult-use rules..
 
Cost: 
  • application fee $10,000 
  • initial license fee $10,000 
  • renewal license fee $20,000
Cannabis manufacturers process raw cannabis plants into various products, such as edibles, concentrates, wax, oils, and tinctures. Manufacturers can buy cannabis flowers, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products from other cannabis businesses. They turn these materials into cannabis products, then package and sell them to other cannabis businesses. This license type is available in limited quantities, and licensees will be selected through a vetted lottery.
 
Cost: 
  • application fee $2,500 
  • initial license fee $2,500 
  • renewal license fee $5,000
Cannabis retailers sell packaged cannabis products to the general public and medical patients. They can buy cannabis (including plants and seedlings) and lower-potency hemp products from other cannabis businesses and sell them to customers. This license type is available in limited quantities, and licensees will be selected through a vetted lottery. A cannabis retailer may operate up to five retail locations; however, no person, cooperative, or business may hold a license to own or operate more than one cannabis retail business in one city and three retail businesses in one county.

Cost: 
  • application fee $5,000 
  • initial license fee $5,000 
  • renewal license fee $10,000
Cannabis wholesalers buy cannabis, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products from cannabis businesses and then sell them to other cannabis business.

Cost: 
  • application fee $250 
  • initial license fee $500 
  • renewal license fee $1,000
Cannabis transporters are businesses that move cannabis, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products between businesses.

Cost: 
  • application fee $5,000 
  • initial license fee $5,000 
  • renewal license fee $10,000
Cannabis testing facilities receive cannabis, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products from manufacturers and cultivators to test. They ensure these products meet safety standards.

Cost: 
  • application fee $750 
  • initial license fee $750 
Cannabis event organizers plan and host events featuring cannabis, and may allow for the sale of cannabis, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp products to consumers at events like festivals (an event cannot last more than four days). They can also provide spaces for consumers to use cannabis. An event organizer must receive local approval, including obtaining any necessary permits or licenses issued by a local unit of government.

Cost: 
  • application fee $250 
  • initial license fee $500
  • renewal license fee $1,000 
A cannabis delivery service purchase cannabis and lower-potency hemp products from specific cannabis businesses and sell and deliver those products directly to consumers.

Cost: 
  • application fee $250 
  • initial license fee $1,000
  • renewal license fee $1,000 
Lower-potency hemp edible manufacturers produce edibles from hemp. These manufacturers can create, package, and label lower-potency hemp products, and sell them to cannabis businesses. This license type cannot hold any cannabis business licenses.

Cost: 
  • application fee $250 per retail location
  • initial license fee $250 per retail location
  • renewal license fee $250 per retail location
Lower-potency hemp edible retailers sell packaged lower-potency hemp edibles to consumers. This license type cannot hold any cannabis business licenses.

Cost: 
  • application fee $10,000 
  • initial license fee $20,000 
  • renewal license fee $70,000 
Medical cannabis combination businesses can grow, manufacture, package, label, and sell cannabis products (including cannabis plants and seedlings) to both medical patients and adult consumers. These businesses can package and sell medical cannabis products to other eligible cannabis businesses. They are allowed to cultivate up to 60,000 square feet of medical cannabis plant canopy for distribution into the medical market, and depending upon the total amount of medical sales the year prior, up to an additional 30,000 square feet of cannabis plant canopy for distribution into the adult-use market.

Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination:
Other Info:
Activity: License Detail URL: Office of Cannabis Management (OCM), Minnesota
back to top