skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Wholesale Transport Registration
Alternate Title:
Description: Minn. Stat. § 237.131 prohibits telecommunications service providers and registered wholesale transport providers from knowingly contracting with a wholesale transport provider that is not registered with the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission. Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (PUC) and Minnesota Department of Commerce
Subject: Telecommunications
Telephone Services
Creation Date: 4/11/2019 4:24:28 PM
Modification Date: 11/8/2019 2:25:19 PM
Agency Name: Public Utilities Commission (PUC), Minnesota
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/puc/
Agency Description: The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (PUC) regulates three service industries in Minnesota, electricity, natural gas, and telephone. It is the commission's responsibility to ensure that vendors of these services provide safe, adequate, and reliable service at fair, reasonable rates.
Agency Phone: 651-296-7124
800-657-3782
Agency Fax: 651-297-7073
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/puc/
Agency Address:
121 7th Place East, Suite 350

St. Paul
MN 55101-2147

Unit Name:
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s):
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Minn. Stat. § 237.132 requires a wholesale transport provider to register with the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission. “Wholesale transport provider" means any person, firm, association, or corporation that carries, delivers, routes, or transports any telecommunications service subject to the commission's jurisdiction, directly or indirectly, but is not certified in Minnesota to provide retail telecommunications service to the public.

A wholesale transport provider is required to register the company name, address, a contact name, and a telephone number available to other carriers that will be answered within normal business hours prior to the wholesale transport provider's initial offering of wholesale transport service in Minnesota. 

The Minnesota Department of Commerce is to maintain a contact list of all registered wholesale transport providers on its Website to enable expeditious resolution of any call routing and call completion problems involving wholesale transport providers. Wholesale transport providers shall update their registration information when changes occur, but no less frequently than annually. Telecommunications carriers that are certified in Minnesota to provide retail telecommunications services are not required to also register as a wholesale transport provider and may not appear on the below list of registered wholesale transport providers.

The 2018 docket number is Docket No. 18-23. The 2019 docket number will be Docket No.19-23, etc.


Rules: 7810

Statutes: 237

Forms: Wholesale Transport Provider Registration Form
Fees:

A filing fee of $570

A quarterly indirect assessment (fee), based on gross intrastate revenues over $5,000, which covers the general costs of regulation.

See Minn. Stat. § 237.74, Subd. 10, and Minn. Stat. § 237.295

As a regulated telecommunications carrier, in addition to federal, state, and municipal taxes, you are required to assess and collect fees for 911, Telephone Assistance Plan (TAP), and Telecommunications Access Minnesota (TAM). For further information on these fees, visit Emergency Communication Networks


Period of Issuance:

Certificates of Authority remain in effect indefinitely unless surrendered by the holder or revoked by the Commission.


Length of Determination: Typically, 30 to 60 days from the date the application is filed with the MN Department of Commerce and Public Utilities Commission (PUC).
Other Info:
Activity: Telecommunications Services
Telephone Services
License Detail URL: Wholesale Transport Registration

Registered Transport Providers

Certified Carriers

MN Public Utilities Commission (PUC)

Minnesota Department of Commerce
back to top