skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Physical Therapist License
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota State Board of Physical Therapy
Subject: Physical Therapy Practice
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:16:09 PM
Modification Date: 9/12/2019 2:06:59 PM
Agency Name: Physical Therapy, Minnesota State Board of
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/boards/physical-therapy/
Agency Description: The Minnesota State Board of Physical Therapy serves to ensure that Minnesota citizens receive appropriate physical therapy services from competent physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. Public protection is accomplished through licensing and disciplining of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants.
Agency Phone: 612-627-5406
Agency Fax: 612-627-5403
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/boards/physical-therapy/
Agency Address:
2829 University Ave SE Suite 420

Mpls.
MN 55414

Unit Name: Email
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s): Physical.therapy@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL: https://phy.hlb.state.mn.us/#/login
Renewal URL: https://phy.hlb.state.mn.us/#/login
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Graduate of an approved program in physical therapy.

National Examination

A complete list of requirements in application and instruction forms is available on the Board website.


Rules: 5601.0100 - .3200

Statutes: 148.65

Forms:

Instructions for Licensure PT New Graduate - Temporary Permit for PT New Graduate on page 14 of PDF packet

Instructions for Licensure PT Another State - Temporary Permit for PT New Graduate on page 14 of PDF packet

Application and instructions for Physical Therapist License are available at Application: PT (New Graduate)

You must have an active license to practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant in Minnesota. Practice under a lapsed or non-renewed credential is a basis for discipline under Minn. Stat. § 148.75 (a) (18). 

Additional information about renewals can be found at License Renewal


Fees:

Application Fees

Fees are non-refundable; even if it is determined that you are not eligible for licensure. Fees may be paid via credit card with submission of an online application or check or money order with submission of paper application. Check must be made payable to the MN Board of Physical Therapy.

Permanent Licensure Application Fee: $100.00 (Required of all applicants) This fee must be paid online or sent with your completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Annual Licensure Fee: $60.00 (Required of all applicants) This fee must be paid online or sent with a completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Criminal Background Check Fee: $33.25 (Required of all applicants) This fee must be paid online or sent with a completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Exam Application Processing Fee: $50.00 (Required for new grads testing for a MN license) This fee must be paid online or sent with a completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Temporary Permit Fee: $25.00 (optional) This fee must be paid with a check or money order made payable to the MN Board of Physical Therapy and sent with a completed Temporary Permit application form. Form and Fee may be submitted at any time during the application process. Fee is non-refundable. 


Period of Issuance:

Annual, based on a calendar year.


Length of Determination: 2 to 4 weeks.
Other Info:
Activity: Physical Therapy, Practice of
License Detail URL:

Physical Therapy, Minnesota Board of

License Verification

Look up a license

Minnesota State Board of Physical Therapy


back to top