Title: Athlete Agent Registration
Description: Athlete agent means an individual who enters into an agency contract with a student athlete or, directly or indirectly for remuneration, recruits or solicits a student athlete to enter into an agency contract. The term includes an individual who represents to the public that the individual is an athlete agent. The term does not include a spouse, parent, sibling, grandparent, or guardian of the student athlete or an individual acting solely on behalf of a professional sports team or professional sports organization. Minnesota Department of Commerce
Subject: Athlete Agent
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:11:06 PM
Modification Date: 6/29/2020 5:05:56 PM
Agency Name: Commerce, Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/commerce/
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Agency Phone: 651-539-1600
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://mn.gov/commerce/
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
Unit Name: Licensing Unit
Unit Phone: 651-539-1599
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): email@example.com
How to Register
Submit the following to register as an Athlete Agent:
Complete the Athlete Agent Registration Application
Eligible reciprocal applicants should complete the reciprocal application.
Submit the $500 Athlete Agent registration fee. Cash is not accepted. Send a check or money order payable to Minnesota Department of Commerce.
In order for you to be eligible to apply for reciprocal registration as an athlete agent in Minnesota, all of the following must be true:
- You must be registered as an athlete agent in another state.
- The application and registration requirements of that state must be substantially similar to or more restrictive than Minnesota’s Revised Uniform Athlete Agents Act (Minn. Stat. Chapter 81A)
- Your registration in that state must not have been revoked or suspended, and there must be no action involving your conduct as an athlete agent pending against you or your registration in any state.
The term of an Athlete Agent registration is two years. Renewal forms are sent to the Athlete Agent's business address approximately 45 days prior to the expiration date. To renew an Athlete Agent registration: submit the completed and signed renewal application form along with the $400 registration renewal fee.
Athlete Agent Application
Registration application form is available at Athlete Agent License
Registration fee - $500
Reciprocal fee - $500
Athlete Agent Renewal fee - $400
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination: 30 days.
Activity: Athlete Agent
License Detail URL:
Athlete Agent License