Title: Unfair Cigarette Sales Act (UCSA) Fee
Description: Offering for sale, or sale of cigarettes below cost in the wholesale and retail trade is declared by the legislature to have the intent or effect of injuring a competitor, destroying or lessening competition, and is deemed an unfair and deceptive business practice and an unfair method of competition. Such practices affect collection of taxes and license fees imposed on persons engaged in the sale of cigarettes. The policy of the state of Minnesota and the purposes of Minn. Stat. § 325D
.30-.42 is to protect the public by prohibiting such sales. Minnesota Department of Commerce
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:18:11 PM
Modification Date: 9/12/2019 4:25:45 PM
Agency Name: Commerce, Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/commerce/
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Agency Phone: 651-539-1600
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://mn.gov/commerce/
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
Unit Name: Unfair Cigarette Sales Act (UCSA)
Unit Phone: 651-539-1500
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): Unit URL:
Review Cigarette Vendors
Annual UCSA fee Cigarette distributors are required to pay an annual Unfair Cigarette Sales Act fee based on their annual cigarette tax collections.
Notice to Meet Competitors Price Distributors are required to notify the Commissioner of Commerce in order to meet a competitor's price.
If your annual cigarette tax collection is: The fee is:
$2,000,000.00 or less even if No Stamping Activity $1,200
More than $2,000,000.00 $2,500
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination:
Cigarette Sales-Minimum Wholesale & Retail Pricing
License Detail URL: