License renewal will open in November of 2020!
All Minnesota PT and PTA licenses expire on December 31. The annual renewal fee is $60 and the late fee is $20. You are able to make a secure payment through US Bank with a MasterCard, Visa credit card. You are strongly encouraged to renew early online, allowing time for any technical difficulties which may occur. Our online services are most compatible with Google Chrome.
You must have an active license to practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant in Minnesota. Practice under a lapsed or non-renewed credential is a basis for discipline under MS 148.75 (a) (18). Any practice after December 31, 2020, will be looked at as practicing without a license until your license has been renewed for 2021.
New for 2020 License Renewals
5601.1700 RENEWAL OF LICENSURE; PHYSICAL THERAPISTS AND PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS. Subpart 2.
Jurisprudence continuing education; physical therapists and physical therapist assistants.
Beginning January 1, 2019, when a license is renewed each year in compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 148.73, a licensee must complete self-study and take a jurisprudence examination on the Board of Physical Therapy Practice Act, and receive a passing score as established by the board on an open-book examination. The examination may be retaken as many times as is necessary to pass.
The required Jurisprudence Exam will be part of the annual online renewal starting in November 2019. The MN PT Practice Act can be found online: http://mn.gov/boards/physical-therapy/board-info/statutes-rules/
ATTENTION: The continuing education audit that occurs in December 2019 will be based on compliance with the old rules. The 1st CE audit for compliance with the new rules will be in December of 2020. For frequently asked CE questions, please click HERE.
License Renewal Information
Our online services are most compatible with Google Chrome as your web browser to renew your license. If you are unable to install Google Chrome on your computer, please try updating your current web browser to the most current version if you are running into problems with your online renewal.
Name changes: Prior to renewing your license please submit a certified copy or notarized copy of the legal document specifying the name change. Your renewal card will be printed with the name you view when you log into your online account. If you have submitted a name change that is not reflected on your account, contact the Board office before renewing. Replacement cards will not be printed without a fee for name changes occurring after you renew your license. Instructions for completing the name change process can be found on our "Licensee Name Change" page of this website.
- When completing the renewal please note that you must include January 2016 - December 2020 in your work history entry.
- The first four practice questions have the options “yes” or “unanswered”. If your answer is “no” please select “unanswered”
- New CE Rules: https://mn.gov/boards/physical-therapy/continuingeducation/ce-faq.jsp
- If you do not remember your username/password, click “Forgot Username/Password” on the online log in: https://phy.hlb.state.mn.us/#/login. The Board does not store password information so you will need to follow the password reset steps.
If you do not intend to renew your MN PT license for 2021, then please notify the Board via email: firstname.lastname@example.org or in writing: MN Board of Physical Therapy, 2829 University Avenue SE, Suite 420, Minneapolis, MN 55414.