Brand Label Registration Requirements
1. For malt beverages, indicate the alcoholic content by weight on a statement.
2. The application must be typed or printed and signed in ink. Please answer all question, leave no blank spaces. Each product to be registered must be on a separate form and accompanied by a $40 fee. A copy will be returned to you when approved.
3. Each registration must include an original label or a legible color copy affixed to the front of the form. Oversized labels may be attached to a separate sheet of paper stapled to this form. In the case of can beer, submit a photocopy of the can flat layout including the lid. Do not submit metal flats or lids or cardboard boxes for labels. Submit a photocopy stapled to the registration form of any non paper labels that are etched on a bottle. Paper clips may not be used to affix labels to this form.
4. Attach one copy of the approved ATF form 5100.31 for each label submitted for our files.
5. The name and address shown on the label must conform to the requirements of the Federal Alcohol Administration Act and the name appearing on the label must be identical with the name of the applicant. If the name on the label differs from the name of the applicant, a copy of the Federal Basic Permit showing the approval of the trade name or DBA must be furnished.
6. The Commissioner may require a chemical analysis or samples of any product to be registered. If required, the applicant will be notified.
7. A label registration remains active while the license of the registrant is valid and the product is shipped into Minnesota at least once every three years. If the product is not shipped in a three year period, the registration expires and must be re-registered.
Additions or Replacement Labels
8. Registrants should report additions and replacements on this form. There is no charge for additions or replacements. Do not submit replacement labels for changes in vintage.
9. Minn. Stat. §340A.311 requires all brand labels to be renewed with a fee of $30 payable every three years if you intend to continue to ship the product into Minnesota. A separate list of all brand labels due for renewal will be included with your annual license renewal form.
Application forms are available at Forms/Documents
Initial registration - $40
Renewal - $30 after the third year if a product continues to be shipped into Minnesota.
Three years, runs concurrent with wholesaler, manufacturer, or import license.