skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Wholesale Food Processor/Manufacturer
Alternate Title:
Description:

A wholesale food processor/manufacturer makes food and sells to other businesses for resale.This includes processing or manufacturing raw materials and other food ingredients into food items, reprocessing of food items, or packaging of food. Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA)


Subject: Food
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:18:35 PM
Modification Date: 1/25/2024 11:22:42 AM
Agency Name: Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
Agency Description: The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
Agency Phone: 651-201-6000
800-967-2474
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
Agency Address:
625 N. Robert Street

St. Paul
MN
55155
Division Name: Food & Feed Safety
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL: https://www2.mda.state.mn.us/webapp/erenewal/login.jsp
Versa URL:
Requirements:

A wholesale food processor/manufacturer makes food and sells to other businesses for resale.This includes processing or manufacturing raw materials and other food ingredients into food items, reprocessing of food items, or packaging of food. These manufacturers produce a wide variety of foods in Minnesota including but not limited to seafood items, canned foods, bread products, beverages, and candies.

Processor/manufacturers are inspected by the Manufactured Food Program within the Food and Feed Safety Division. Businesses (or that portion of their business) making meat and dairy products for wholesale are regulated by the Dairy and Meat Inspection Division.


Rules:
Statutes: 28A.04
28A.08

Forms:

Contact the department.


Fees:

Fee is based on gross annual food sales or service for the immediate previous
license or fiscal year or anticipated future gross annual food sales. 

Gross Annual Food 
Sales and Service

License Fee

  Penalties                   Late Renewal

No License

Less than $125,000

    $169

      $56

   $112

$125,001 - $250,000

    $392

     $129

   $259

$250,001 - $1,000,000

   $590

     $195

   $389

$1,000,001 - $5,000,000

   $769

     $254

   $508

$5,000,001 - $10,000,000

   $920 

     $304

   $607

$10,000,001 - $15,000,000

$1,377

     $454

   $909

$15,000,001 - $20,000,000

$1,608

     $531

$1,061

$20,000,001 - $25,000,000

$1,849

     $601

$1,220

$25,000,001 - $50,000,000

$2,090

     $690

$1,379

$50,000,001 - $100,00,000

$2,330

     $769

$1,358

$100,000,000 or more

$2,571

     $848

$1,697

 

 

 

 

Wholesale food processor of meat or poultry products under supervision of the
U.S. Department of Agriculture

Less than $125,000

    $112

       $37

     $74

$125,001 - $250,000

    $214

       $71

   $141

$250,001 - $1,000,000

   $333

     $110

   $220

$1,000,001 - $5,000,000

   $425

    $140

   $281

$5,000,001 - $10,000,000

   $521 

    $172

   $344

$10,000,001 - $15,000,000

   $765

    $252

   $505

$15,000,001 - $20,000,000

   $893

    $295

   $589

$20,000,001 - $25,000,000

$1,027

    $339

   $678

$25,000,001 - $50,000,000

$1,161

    $383

   $766

$50,000,001 - $100,00,000

$1,295

    $427

   $855

$100,000,001 or more

$1,428

    $471

   $942

 

 

 

 

Wholesale food processor of meat or poultry products under supervision of the
U.S. Department of Agriculture               $125                 $40                                                          $50

 

 

 

 

Wholesale food manufacturer having the permission of the commissioner to use the name Minnesota Farmstead cheese                                  $30                 $10                                                          $15


Wholesale food manufacturer processing less than 700,000 pounds per year of raw milk
                                                                 $30                 $10                                                          $15

 


Period of Issuance:

January 1 - December 31


Length of Determination: Seven days to one month.
Other Info:
Activity: Food
License Detail URL:

Wholesale Food Processor/Manufacturer

Food Licenses

Licensing Information Search

Licenses & Inspections Locator

Online Licensing System -License Lookup

Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA)


back to top