skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Marriage Officiant / Minister
Alternate Title:
Description:

Persons authorized to perform Civil Marriages. For a person (both Minnesota residents and non-residents) to be authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in Minnesota, the person must be at least 21 years old and must file their "officiant credentials" with a Minnesota county.


Subject: Professionals
Creation Date: 10/28/2016 11:05:19 AM
Modification Date: 9/5/2021 3:46:47 PM
Agency Name: County / City Licenses and Requirements
Agency URL:
Agency Description:
Agency Phone: Agency Fax: Agency URL:
Agency Address:





Division Name: Contact a County Clerk / County Registrar Office
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Marriage officiant credential filing

For a person (both Minnesota residents and non-residents) to be authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in Minnesota, the person must be at least 21 years old and must file their "officiant credentials" with a Minnesota county. Once this is done, marriages may be performed anywhere in the State of Minnesota.

Review Minn. Statute Chapter 517 - Civil Marriage

Minn. Stat. § 517.04 - PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM CIVIL MARRIAGES

Civil marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired judge of a court of record, a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, the residential school superintendent of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or ordained minister of any religious denomination, or by any mode recognized in section Minn. Stats. § 517.18. For purposes of this section, a court of record includes the Office of Administrative Hearings under Minn. Stat. § 14.48

Minn. Stat. § 517.041 POWER TO APPOINT COURT COMMISSIONER; DUTY


Minn. Stat. § 517.05 CREDENTIALS OF MINISTER

Ministers of any religious denomination, before they are authorized to solemnize a civil marriage, shall file a copy of their credentials of license or ordination or, if their religious denomination does not issue credentials, authority from the minister's spiritual assembly, with the local registrar of a county in this state, who shall record the same and give a certificate of filing thereof. The place where the credentials are recorded shall be endorsed upon and recorded with each certificate of civil marriage granted by a minister.


Rules:
Statutes: 517

Forms:
Fees: Fee set by county.
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination:
Other Info:
Activity: Forest Products
Lands, Public
License Detail URL:

Listing of Minnesota County Websites

Contact a County Clerk / County Registrar Office


back to top