skip to content
graphic of a list with the letters A to Z

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Boat Master License
Alternate Title:
Description:

A holder of a Boat Master license may operate any vessel navigating inland waters of the state of Minnesota that is propelled by machinery or sails and is carrying more than six passengers for hire. Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI)


Subject: Watercraft
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:10:45 PM
Modification Date: 6/8/2020 4:58:28 PM
Agency Name: Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Description: The agency oversees the state's programs for apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, dual-training (PIPELINE Program), occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards, workers' compensation and youth skills training programs. The Office of Combative Sports, within the Department of Labor & Industry, ensures Minnesota's combative sporting events are conducted in a manner that minimizes injuries and ensures fair competition.
Agency Phone: 651-284-5005
800-342-5354
Agency Fax: Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Address:
443 Lafayette Road N.

St. Paul
MN 55155

Division Name: Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Audience: Application URL:
Renewal URL: https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/license/Default.aspx
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Requirements and qualifications

  • At least 15 hours of supervised training experience operating a boat for hire.
  • Affidavit signed by the licensed boat master who supervised the applicant's training experience.
  • Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
  • Application must be signed.
  • Must pass license examination with a score of at least 70 percent.

Application process
All required applicant information must be provided for the application to be processed, including affidavits of training experience. Affidavits must be signed and notarized. The applicant is notified by mail to schedule an exam date online.

Exemption

Individuals holding a valid, current charter boat captain's license issued by the United States Coast Guard are considered licensed to carry passengers for hire in Minnesota and not required to obtain this license.

Exams

  • Exam is 40 questions (closed book)
  • Exam covers operation, maintenance inspection, and operator licensing of boats carrying passengers for hire.
  • Exam results are mailed to applicant after the completed exam is scored.

View Requirements for operating boats for hire


Rules: 5225.6150

Statutes: 326.94

Forms:

License exam application

Schedule an exam online

Boat master affidavit

Change of address


Fees:

$50 application fee (exam qualification only)

$60 license fee

$90 fee with late fee


Period of Issuance:

Two years, expiring in the biennial anniversary month after the license was originally issued.


Length of Determination:

Properly completed applications are processed in a timely manner. All required applicant information must be provided for the application to be processed, including affidavits of training experience. Affidavits must be signed and notarized. The applicant is notified by mail to schedule an examination date online.


Other Info:
Activity: Watercraft
Boats
Boats Carrying Passengers for Hire
License Detail URL:

Boat Master License

Requirements for Boats-for-Hire

Check a License Online

Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry (DLI)


back to top