skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Minnesota Identification (ID) Card
Alternate Title: Minnesota Driver's License
Description: Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Subject: Drivers
Drivers' License
Creation Date: 9/15/2008 11:06:59 AM
Modification Date: 9/24/2019 12:34:53 PM
Agency Name: Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Agency Phone: 651-201-7000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Address: Public Safety, Minnesota Dept. of
445 Minnesota Street

St. Paul
MN 55101

Division Name: Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)
Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/default.aspx
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-297-3298 -Driver Services
651-297-2126 -Vehicle Services
651-282-6555 TTYL
Division Fax: Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/default.aspx
Division Address:
445 Minnesota St., Suite 190

St. Paul
MN 55101-5190

Audience: Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:

One primary and one secondary form of ID for initial application. 

Pay fee and make application. 

One card issued, others must be invalidated.


Review:  

PS30371 ​Petition for a Variance Form - Religious Conflict with DL/ID Requirements

​PS31300 ​Victim of Identity Theft Form 

PS33117 ​Eligibility Verification of Reduced Fee ID Card Form

PS33160 ​Petition for a Variance Form - No ID or Residency Documents

​PS33160 ​Status Check Information

PS33210 ​Certificate of Translation Form

​List of Approved Translation Vendors​​

Applicant must qualify and/or complete form for a Reduced Fee ID Card.  Also refer to Minn. Stat. § 71.07 subd. 3.


Rules: 7410.0100 - .1800

Statutes: 171.06
171.07

Forms:

Application for Driver's License / Identification Card, PS33100

See: 

Driver's License Forms

Identification Card Forms

Fast Track Driver's License, ID and Title

Enhanced Driver's License (EDL)  and Enhanced Identification Card Just the Facts

Enhanced Driver's License (EDL)  and Enhanced Identification Card requirements


Fees:

Under age 65 - $19.25 

Age 65 and older - $16.50  

Duplicate fee - $14.75

Card for Person with Physical Disability, Developmental Disability or Qualified Mental Illness - $.50

Expedited (Fast Track) Service - $20 optional fee 


Period of Issuance: ID cards always expire on the applicant's birthday and must be renewed every four years; age 65 and older are valid for life.
Length of Determination: Ten days to two weeks.
Other Info:
Activity: License Detail URL:

Driver and Vehicle Services

Online Self Services

MN Dept. of Public Safety (DPS)

Social Media


back to top