skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Mechanical Contractor Bond
Alternate Title: Mechanical Contractor Bond
Description: Minn. Stat. § 326B.197 requires anyone who installs gas piping, heating, ventilation, cooling, air conditioning, fuel burning or refrigeration (G/HVACR) equipment to post a $25,000 bond and file with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD).
Subject: Cooling, Fuel Burning, Refrigeration Equipment
Creation Date: 9/15/2008 10:39:20 AM
Modification Date: 9/12/2019 4:32:45 PM
Agency Name: Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) oversees the state's apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards and workers' compensation programs and the Office of Combative Sports (OCS).
Agency Phone: 651-284-5005
800-342-5354
Agency Fax: Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Address:
443 Lafayette Road N.

St. Paul
MN 55155

Division Name: Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Licensing and Certification Services
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-284-5034
Unit Fax: 651-284-5743
Contact person(s): Unit URL:
Audience: Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements: There is no state license requirement for mechanical contractors, they are required to file a $25,000 mechanical contractor bond with DLI in order to contract to perform gas, heating, ventilation, cooling, air conditioning, fuel burning or refrigeration work in Minnesota. The bond must be on a form approved by DLI and written by a surety company licensed to do business in Minnesota.

In addition to filing a bond, mechanical contractors are subject to local licensing requirements.

 
Code books

Minnesota's Bookstore sells mechanical codes, including:

  • Minnesota State Mechanical Code (Minn. Rules 1346)

  • International Mechanical Code

  • International Fuel Gas Code

  • Standard for Ventilation Control and Fire Protection of Commercial Cooking Operations (NFPA 96)

  • Minnesota State Mechanical, Fuel Gas and Plumbing Code

The Minnesota State Building Code is the standard for construction statewide, however, the code is enforced by certain cities and townships

About the Minnesota Mechanical Code
This chapter of the state building code governs the installation and maintenance of heating, ventilating, cooling, and refrigeration systems or so-called "HVAC" systems. Examples of subjects regulated include, furnaces, ductwork, hot water heat, commercial kitchen ventilation, gas piping, exhaust ventilation, etc. The Minnesota Mechanical Code consists of the 2012 International Mechanical & International Fuel Gas Codes and the amendments to these documents located in Minn. Rules 1346

Contact DLI at dli.license@state.mn.us or 651-284-5034.


Rules: 1346

Statutes: 326B.197

Forms:

Mechanical Bond Packet


Fees:
Period of Issuance:

Bonds are in effect for one year from the effective date and renewed annually with a continuation certificate.


Length of Determination:
Other Info:
Activity: License Detail URL:

Plumbing and Mechanical Contractors

Check an Existing Bond

Search for bonded mechanical contractors

Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry (DLI)


back to top