Registration. Minnesota law requires health, dating, and buying clubs to register with the Attorney General’s Office and renew their registration annually. Minn. Stat. § 325G.23-.28. Such clubs register by completing and filing the required forms (see below), paying a registration fee, and filing a surety bond if they accept prepayments from members of $50 or more. Members of a club who lose a portion of their pre-paid membership fee because, for example, the club closes or declares bankruptcy may file a claim with entity that provided the club with its surety bond. The Minnesota Attorney General’s Office may also file a claim on behalf of any member who loses a portion of their pre-paid membership fee.
Renewal. Every year after registering, clubs must file by September 1 an annual renewal form, a financial statement, illustrative copies of all versions of membership contract forms, and pay a renewal fee. Clubs that cease operating are required to file a closing statement that includes details of the club’s outstanding liabilities to its members.
Exemptions. Some clubs may be exempt from registration. A club that believes it is exempt must file an exemption form with the Attorney General’s Office.
Forms for Filing. All forms clubs need to use when registering, renewing their registration, or making an exemption claim can be downloaded using the links below:
Required for initial registrations:
Required for clubs claiming exemption from registration:
Required for annual renewals:
Required when a club closes:
The registration form is available at Charities, Club Contracts
For questions regarding registration, clubs can contact the Attorney General’s Office at 651-757-1335.
$250 initial registration fee; yearly renewal fee.
One year (renewals are due on September 1st following the initial registration).