skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter


2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Minnesota Horse Pass
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
Subject: Horseback Riding
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:15:02 PM
Modification Date: 9/11/2019 1:32:03 PM
Agency Name: Natural Resources (DNR), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL:
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) manages the state's natural resources. Hunting, fishing, state forests and parks, lakes, rivers and streams, boating and water safety, trails, snowmobiling, skiing, education, enforcement, wildlife management, lands and minerals are managed by the DNR.
Agency Phone: 651-296-6157
Agency Fax: Agency URL:
Agency Address: Natural Resources (DNR), Minnesota Dept. of
500 Lafayette Rd.

St. Paul
MN 55155

Unit Name: Licensing Center
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s):
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:

Minn. Stat. § 85.46 states "While riding, leading, or driving a horse on horse trails and associated day use areas on state trails, in state parks, in state recreation areas, and in state forests, a person 16 years of age or over shall carry in immediate possession and visibly display on person or horse tack, a valid horse trail pass. The pass must be available for inspection by a peace officer, a conservation officer, or an employee designated under Minn. Stat. § 84.0835." The DNR's Division of Trails and Waterways administers the program for the Department of Natural Resources.

Each person needs to have their own signed pass and must "...carry (it) in their immediate possession and visibly display the pass on their person or horse tack..." The pass is valid only for the individual whose name and signature are on that pass.

Examples include:

* When two people are riding the same horse, they would both need a horse pass.
* Only the driver of a horse and buggy would need a pass; any passengers would not be required to have a pass.
* Should a person be riding one horse and leading another horse (without a rider), the person needs only one pass.
* If a stable brings a horse onto a designated trail with different riders throughout the day, each rider needs their own horse pass.

Ideally, the trail user would acquire a pass prior to arriving at the horse trail facility. In the event that he or she did not purchase a pass prior to arrival, a self-registration system will be available, similar to that used by the cross-country ski pass program. Using this self-registration envelope, the trail user fills out the form, selecting either a daily or annual horse pass option, encloses payment and drops the postage paid envelope into the mail or payment box, if one is provided. If the user selected an annual pass, it will be mailed to them. Trail users retain one copy of this form as either a daily pass or temporary annual pass. Horses can be ridden in some state parks, state forests and on some state trails.

Refer to the Horse Pass FAQs

Contact the MN Dept. of Natural Resources Information Center at 651-296-6157 or 888-646-6367 or refer to Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

See Minn. Rules 6100.1355, subpart 2 and Minn. Rules 6100.1950, subpart 7E.

Rules: 6100.1355

Statutes: 85.46


Annual Pass fee - $21 (For an individual 16 years of age or over)

Daily horse trail pass - $5 (Daily pass is valid only for the date shown)

Period of Issuance:

Annual passes are valid for one year beginning January 1 and ending December 31.

Length of Determination: Immediate to two weeks, depending on how pass is purchased.
Other Info:
Activity: Recreation
Horseback Riding
License Detail URL:

Horseback Riding

DNR License Agents 

Electronic License System (ELS)

ELS gives three options for buying licenses: Online, phone or in person. 

Online License Sales 

A Minnesota Horse Trail Pass may be purchased by phone: 888-665-4236 (1-MN-LICENSE). Call any time of day or night, seven days a week. This toll-free call provides immediate licensing by way of a license identification number, which will be issued at the time of the call. The license identification number is valid until you receive an actual license in the mail. All purchases must be made by credit card. There is $3.50 convenience fee per transaction.

Use the License Agents search tool to search by county to find a location where you can buy hunting and fishing licenses and ski passes and apply for hunting lotteries in person.

DNR Mobile Apps

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)

Social Media Community


back to top