skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Abstracter: Company & Individual Proprietor / Individual
Alternate Title: Abstracter
Description:

An abstracter is “any person, firm or corporation engaged in the business of making abstracts of title and issuing certificates showing ownership of, or interest in, or liens upon any lands in the state of Minnesota, whether registered or not,” including “present duly qualified and acting county recorders not now prohibited by law from making abstracts.” Minnesota Department of Commerce


Subject: Abstracters
Real Property
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:10:24 PM
Modification Date: 7/16/2019 9:34:11 AM
Agency Name: Commerce, Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/commerce/
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Agency Phone: 651-539-1600
800-857-3602
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://mn.gov/commerce/
Agency Address:
85 7th Place East, Suite 500

St. Paul
MN
55101
Unit Name: Licensing Unit
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-539-1599
800-657-3978 (MN only)
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): licensing.commerce@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Audience: Application URL: https://www.pulseportal.com/
Renewal URL: https://www.pulseportal.com/
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Abstracter Company and Abstracter Individual Proprietor 

  1. Submit the license application at PULSE Portal
    • The license fee is $50.
  2. You must email your liability insurance after submitting the application to licensing.commerce@state.mn.us. If you are submitting a surety bond instead of the liability insurance you must mail the original bond to: 

    Department of Commerce – Abstracter Licensing 
    85 7th Place East, Suite 280J 
    Saint Paul, MN 55101
    • Applicants having cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota in an amount equal to the required bond or insurance policy, will be exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed. Applicants claiming this exemption must attach proof of the cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota. 

    • Applicants that are title insurance companies regulated by Minn. Stat. Chapter 68A and  licensed pursuant to Minn. Stat. 60A.02 and Minn. Stat. Chapter 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (7)> and  their employees, are exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed.

Abstracter Individual

  1. Pass the Abstracter prelicense exam. Schedule the exam at Pearson Vue  (1-833-273-1946)
    • The exam results will be sent to us electronically from Pearson Vue 

    • The exam must have been taken on or after July 1, 2009.
  2. Submit the license application at PULSE Portal
    • The license fee is $50.

Rules:
Statutes: 386

Forms:

Go to PULSE Portal

More information is available at Abstracter Company and Abstracter Individual Proprietor


Fees:

Individual and/or Company new license - $50 

Individual - $50

Renewal - $40


Period of Issuance:

1 year


Length of Determination: 2 - 4 weeks.
Other Info:
Activity: Abstracter
License Detail URL:

Real Estate 

Minnesota Department of Commerce


back to top