skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Wine or Malt Beverage Educator On-Sale License
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Subject: Alcoholic Beverages
Wine
Creation Date: 6/26/2012 12:18:55 PM
Modification Date: 12/12/2019 10:51:35 AM
Agency Name: Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Agency Phone: 651-201-7000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Address: Public Safety, Minnesota Dept. of
445 Minnesota Street

St. Paul
MN 55101

Division Name: Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division
Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/age/Pages/default.aspx
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-201-7507
Division Fax: 651-297-5259
Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/age/Pages/default.aspx
Division Address:
445 Minnesota St., Suite 222

St. Paul
MN 55101-2156

Audience: Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Submit completed application.
 
Applicants must possess certification that is satisfactory to the commissioner including, but not limited to a certified specialist wine or certified wine educator status as conferred by the Society of Wine Educators, a Wine and Spirits Education Trust Diploma, status as a certified sommelier, or the completion of a wine industry program at a technical college or culinary school. A malt beverage educator must be a certified cicerone or certified malt beverage educator as conferred by the Master Brewer's Association of America. A wine or malt beverage educator must also complete Training for Intervention Procedures (TIPS) or other certified alcohol training programs and have a valid certificate on file with the commissioner.

Applicant must provide a copy of a certificate of liquor liability insurance. (NOTE -No insurance applications forms, binders of declaration accepted).

Background check required.

Licensee must notify local licensing and law enforcement authorities before catering events.

Intent is to serve wine as part of a educational class.


Rules:
Statutes: 340A.404

Forms:

Application for Wine Educator On-Sale License

Application forms are available at Forms/Documents


Fees:

License fee - $275

Add additional $50 per employee for permit to pour wine at educational events.  

Employees pouring wine for educator are required to obtain a permit at a cost of $50 a year.


Period of Issuance:

License valid for one year from the date of issuance.


Length of Determination: 30-60 days.
Other Info:
Activity: Liquor
Alcohol
License Detail URL:

Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement Division

Liquor License Database

MN Dept. of Public Safety (DPS)

Social Media


back to top