Title: Commercial Feed License and Tonnage Reporting
Description: The Commercial Feed Program administers the Minnesota Commercial Feed Law. The law is applicable to all commercial manufacturing and distribution activities involving feed, feed ingredients and feed additives for all animals, including livestock, aquaculture, pets and specialty pets. The commercial feed program licenses persons manufacturing, guaranteeing and/or distributing commercial feed in or into the state of Minnesota, processes inspection fees (tonnage fees), and lists (registers) small package pet and specialty pet food products in lieu of inspection fees. Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA)
Subject: Commercial Feed
Pet Food and Feed
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:12:00 PM
Modification Date: 12/12/2019 9:06:12 AM
Agency Name: Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
Agency Description: The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
Agency Phone: 651-201-6000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
625 N. Robert Street
Unit Name: Food & Feed Safety
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s): email@example.com
Renewal URL: https://www2.mda.state.mn.us/webapp/erenewal/login.jsp
A Minnesota Commercial Feed License is required before a person may:
- manufacture a commercial feed in Minnesota;
- distribute a commercial feed in or into the state; or
- have the person's name appear on the label of a commercial feed as guarantor.
Commercial Feed License is Needed for:
- Anyone in Minnesota who is making animal feed they intend to distribute to others. If you are only making animal feed for personal use a license is not required.
- Anyone inside or outside of Minnesota who distributes animal feed to others in Minnesota. Retail-only locations do not need a license.
- Anyone inside or outside of Minnesota who has their name and address on the label of an animal feed product distributed in Minnesota.
- Feed licenses are unique to each location. If you open a second qualifying location, you would need a second license.
Rules: 1510.1930 - .2230
1510.2500 - .2595
If you need a Commercial Feed License Application call 651-201-6062, or email firstname.lastname@example.org
Feed License - $75
$100 penalty fee for anyone who fails to get a license or renews after the December 31 deadline.
You must get a feed license before doing any of the activities listed in the Requirements section.
A feed license is valid from January 1 to December 31 and must be renewed annually in order to continue any of the above activities.
- Tonnage fees must be paid annually for all animal feed, feed ingredient, and feed additives manufactured in Minnesota.
- The tonnage fee is 16 cents/ton or $75 (whichever is greater) and is due by January 31.
- Pet and specialty pet food sold exclusively in packages of 10 lbs. or less is exempt from tonnage fees. These products must instead be registered with the MDA on an annual basis.
Minnesota's Commercial Feed law applies to all commercial manufacturing and distribution activities involving feed, feed ingredients and feed additives for all animals, including livestock, aquaculture, pets and specialty pets. The Minnesota Department of Agriculture Commercial Feed Program licenses persons manufacturing and/or distributing commercial feed in or into the state of Minnesota, processes inspection fees (tonnage fees) and registers small package pet and specialty pet food products.
Period of Issuance:
Length of Determination:
4 - 6 weeks
Activity: Feed, Commercial; Including Pet and Specialty Pet
Pet Food Manufacturing, Distributing / Guarantor
License Detail URL:
Commercial Feed Program
Licenses & Inspections Locator
Online Licensing System