skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Residential Building Contractor/Remodeler
Alternate Title:
Description: A building contractor, remodeler or roofer license is required for anyone who contracts directly with a homeowner to provide building construction services in more than one skill area. Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI)
Subject: Residential Building Contractors
Roofers
Creation Date: 10/14/2008 2:13:12 PM
Modification Date: 7/18/2019 6:58:35 AM
Agency Name: Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) oversees the state's apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards and workers' compensation programs and the Office of Combative Sports (OCS).
Agency Phone: 651-284-5005
800-342-5354
Agency Fax: Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Address:
443 Lafayette Road N.

St. Paul
MN 55155

Division Name: Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Licensing and Certification Services
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-284-5034
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): dli.contractor@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Audience: Application URL: https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/license/intro.aspx
Renewal URL: https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/license/intro.aspx
Versa URL:
Requirements:

CONTRACTOR AND REMODELER LICENSE

Only companies are required to obtain a license (in the case of an individual, the license is issued to an individual proprietorship). However, each company must designate one individual who will serve as a "qualifying person" regardless of whether the licensee is an individual proprietorship, partnership or corporation. The qualifying person is the individual who must take the required examination and fulfill the continuing education requirements for the licensee. 

Review:

What you need to know

Who needs a license?   

Frequently asked questions

Exam details

Minnesota State Building Code

Continuing education requirements

Independent contractor registration

What you can do

Contractor or remodeler license

Roofer license

Search for continuing education courses

Schedule an exam


Important notes:


Rules: 2891

Statutes: 326B.802

Forms:
Fees:

New license:

License fee If gross annual receipts are less than $1 million - $445

If gross annual receipts are $1 million to $5 million - $545

If gross annual receipts are more than $5 million - $645

Exam fee

New license applicants and licensees renewing their license must pay a fee into the Contractor Recovery Fund in addition to the license or renewal fee. The Contractor Recovery Fund replaces bonding requirements. The fee is based on the licensee's gross annual receipts for the licensee's most recent fiscal-year preceding the renewal or application.

Go to Payment Center


Period of Issuance:

The license period for residential building contractors, remodelers and roofers is April 1 through March 31 each year. All licenses expire March 31 of each year, even if the license was issued for only a part of the license period. To maintain an active license, all licenses must be renewed by March 31 each year, whether the license was issued for all or a portion of the license period.


Length of Determination: 30 days.
Other Info:
Activity: Residential Building Contractor and Remodeler
Building Contractor
Remodeler
License Detail URL:

Residential Contractors, Remodelers, Roofers

Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry (DLI)


back to top