Title: Fertilizer License
Description: A person may not sell or distribute bulk fertilizers for use on agricultural lands, custom apply fertilizers, or manufacture, blend, or otherwise manipulate fertilizers without first obtaining a license from the commissioner for each fixed location where the person does business within the state and one license for all fixed locations that are located outside of the state. Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA)
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:13:05 PM
Modification Date: 11/13/2019 7:39:08 AM
Agency Name: Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
Agency Description: The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
Agency Phone: 651-201-6000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
625 N. Robert Street
Division Name: Pesticide and Fertilizer Management
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Application URL: https://www2.mda.state.mn.us/webapp/erenewal/apply.jsp
Renewal URL: https://www2.mda.state.mn.us/webapp/erenewal/login.jsp
Applicants who manufacture or formulate fertilizer products must also submit a copy of a label/label facsimile and all labeling material used in this state for the promotion of each product manufactured or formulated.
Fertilizer licensees must file an annual tonnage report for the previous year ending June 30 stating the number of net tons and grade of each raw fertilizer material sold or distributed in Minnesota during the reporting period. Tonnage reports are due on or before the last day of the month following the close of the reporting period.
Tonnage reports are not required to be submitted by a licensee who distributes fertilizer solely by custom application.
The inspection fee rate is set at $10 or 79 cents per ton of fertilizer, whichever is greater, plus an Agricultural Chemical Response and Reimbursement surcharge of 17 cents per ton.
If a tonnage report is not filed with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture within 31 days after the end of the reporting period, a penalty fee of $50 or 10% of the total inspection fee due on that report, whichever is greater, is added to the inspection fee due.
Fertilizer License Application
Annual license application fee - $100 (non refundable), plus an Agricultural Chemical Response and Reimbursement surcharge of $50
Late fee of one-half of the license application fee is added to annual license application fee for RENEWAL applications that are not filed with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture by January 1.
Period of Issuance:
January 1 - December 31
Length of Determination: 1-2 weeks.
License Detail URL:
Online Licensing and Payment Options