skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Food, Beverage and Lodging License
Alternate Title:
Description:

 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) licenses and inspects food and beverage establishments in Minnesota. Other agencies with jurisdiction for food and beverage licensing and inspection include the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA), local jurisdictions (city/county) which have entered into a delegation agreement with MDH or the MDA, and tribal health agencies.

MDH and local jurisdictions which have entered into a delegation agreement with MDH license and inspect lodging establishments (e.g., hotel/motel, vacation home rental, medical lodge, resort, bed & breakfast, etc.) in Minnesota.


Subject: Catering
Food
Restaurants
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:13:21 PM
Modification Date: 12/10/2019 3:25:59 PM
Agency Name: Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Health is the state's lead public health agency, responsible for protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans.
Agency Phone: 651-201-5000
888-345-0823
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Address: Health, Minnesota Dept. of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul
MN
55164-0975
Division Name: Environmental Health Division
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Food, Pools, and Lodging Services Section
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-201-4500
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): health.foodlodging@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Unit Address:
625 N. Robert St.

St. Paul
MN
55155-2538
Audience: Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:
Rules: 4626

Statutes: 157.16

Forms: See Plan Review
Fees:
Annual Fees and Plan Review Fees

Annual fees include: base fee (highest of any applicable base fees), statewide hospitality fee, and all applicable license fees.
*Special Event Food Stands do not pay a base fee.

The plan review fee (when plan submittal is required) is separate from the license fee.

Please see Lodging License for lodging license fee schedule.

Establishment fee description

Plan review fee (new)

Plan review fee (remodel)

License fee

Base fee – food and 

beverage

Not applicable

Not applicable

$165

Statewide Hospitality fee

Not applicable

Not applicable

$40

Category 1

$400

$300

$110

Category 2

$450

$350

$245

Category 3

$500

$400

$385

Food Cart

$250

$250

$85

Seasonal Temporary
Food Stand

$250

$250

$85

Seasonal Permanent Food Stand

$250

$250

$85

Mobile Food Unit

$350

$250

$85

Special Event Food Stand*

Plan review is not required

Plan review is not required

$55

Additional Food Service

$250

$250

$175

Additional Inspection Fee

Not applicable

Not applicable

$250

HACCP

$500

Not applicable

$175

Private sewer or water

Not applicable

Not applicable

$60


Other Administrative Fees

    ▪  Late Fee for Mobile Food Unit, Seasonal Temporary Food Stand, or Seasonal Permanent Food Stand - $60

    ▪  Late Fee for all other food and beverage establishments, up to 30 days late - $120

    ▪  Late Fee for all other food and beverage establishments, more than 30 days - $360


Period of Issuance:

January 1 through December 31. The license must be renewed annually.

Establishment licenses in the city of St. Paul are valid for one year from the date the initial license was issued.


Length of Determination:

You will receive your license in the mail in about two weeks.

Once plans are approved and construction is completed, follow these steps to get your establishment license:

1. Apply for a license.

Contact MDH to request a license application. The license fee is separate from the plan review fee.

Submit the completed license application and required license fee before contacting MDH to request a preoperational inspection.

2. Have your establishment inspected.

Contact MDH 14 days before the intended opening date to schedule a preoperational inspection. The inspection will cover all aspects of your approved project, including:

  Equipment is present, correctly installed and operational.

  Floor, wall and ceiling finishes are installed as approved.

  Mechanical and plumbing installations are approved by the appropriate authority.

3. Post the license in the establishment.

MDH will issue a license after approval. Post the original license in the establishment at all times.


Other Info:
Activity: Restaurants
Food
Hotels
Motels
Bed and Breakfast
Public Swimming Pools / Spa Pools
License Detail URL:

Licensing -Food, Pools and Lodging Services (FPLS)

Minnesota Department of Health

    


back to top