An agricultural liming material is defined as a material containing calcium (Ca) and/or magnesium (Mg) compounds capable of neutralizing soil acidity. These materials include: limestone (i.e. quarry ag-lime), marl, pelleted and industrial or municipal by-products ag-lime from sugar beet or water treatment facilities. Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA)
Licensed ag-lime distributors or producers must file a semiannual statement for the periods ending June 30 and December 31 listing the net tons of ag-lime distributed in Minnesota during the reporting period. The report is due on or before the last day of the month following the close of each reporting period of each calendar year. Tonnage is reported on the Agricultural Liming Material Report of Tonnage Distributed (AG-01102). Inspection fees of 5 cents per ton or $10, whichever is greater, must accompany the tonnage report. Tonnage reports and inspection fees not filed by the due date are subject to a $50 late filing penalty fee.
See Minn. Stat. § 18C.531-.575.
Application forms are available at Ag Lime License, Label, & Tonnage Reporting
Annual license application fee is $150 (not refundable) for each distributor or producer distributing ag-lime. An additional $150 application fee is required if distribution occurs prior to the issuance of an initial license.
* Late penalty fee of 50% of the annual license application fee due (not refundable) is added to RENEWAL applications not filed with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture before January 1.
The ag lime license is effective for the calendar year. Licenses expire on December 31st of each year, regardless of issue date.