skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Home Care
Alternate Title:
Description:

Minnesota laws require individuals and agencies that offer home care services be licensed. Home care services may not be offered nor provided without a valid license (unless the provider is exempted or excluded from licensure. Minnesota Department of Health (MDH)


Subject: Health Care
Health Care Providers
Home Health Care
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:13:45 PM
Modification Date: 12/11/2019 3:07:24 PM
Agency Name: Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Health is the state's lead public health agency, responsible for protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans.
Agency Phone: 651-201-5000
888-345-0823
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Address: Health, Minnesota Dept. of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul
MN
55164-0975
Division Name: Health Regulation Division
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Home Care and Assisted Living Program
Unit URL: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/fpc/homecare/index.html
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-201-5273
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): health.homecare@state.mn.us
Unit URL: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/fpc/homecare/index.html
Unit Address:
P.O. Box 64900
85 East 7th Place East, Suite 220
St. Paul
MN
55164-0900
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL: https://icsd.web.health.state.mn.us/security/login.do
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Review:

 Information on Starting a Home Care Agency in Minnesota

    Minnesota has two types of home care licenses. The license a home care provider holds depends on the types of services offered. Refer to the following documents to see the services that are allowed under the
     basic and comprehensive home care licenses.

    To be eligible for a home care license, applicants must have agency-specific policies and procedures in place that address all requirements of Minnesota home care statutes. Review information about MDH’s expectations
    or policies and procedures, as well as other important and helpful information at these links:


Rules:
Statutes: 144A.43 - .484
144D
144G
626.556
626.557
626.5572

Forms:

Application: Basic Home Care License (PDF)

Application: Comprehensive Home Care License (PDF)


Fees:

An initial applicant seeking temporary home care licensure must submit the following application fee to the commissioner along with a completed application:

Basic home care provider - $2,100

Comprehensive home care provider - $4,200

______ 


A home care provider who is filing a change of ownership as required under subdivision 5 must submit the following application fee to the commissioner, along with the documentation required for the change of ownership:

Basic home care provider - $2,100

Comprehensive home care provider - $4,200

______

A home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner based on revenues derived from the provision of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the application is submitted, according to the following schedule:

License Renewal Fee

Provider Annual Revenue                                                        Fee

greater than $1,500,000                                                         $6,625

greater than $1,275,000 and no more than $1,500,000         $5,797

greater than $1,100,000 and no more than $1,275,000         $4,969

greater than $950,000 and no more than $1,100,000            $4,141

greater than $850,000 and no more than $950,000               $3,727

greater than $750,000 and no more than $850,000               $3,313

greater than $650,000 and no more than $750,000               $2,898

greater than $550,000 and no more than $650,000               $2,485

greater than $450,000 and no more than $550,000               $2,070

greater than $350,000 and no more than $450,000              $1,656

greater than $250,000 and no more than $350,000               $1,242

greater than $100,000 and no more than $250,000                  $828

greater than $50,000 and no more than $100,000                    $500

greater than $25,000 and no more than $50,000                      $400

no more than $25,000                                                                $200

The full fee schedule and fee information is located in Minn. Stat. § 144A.472, subd. 7. 


 


Period of Issuance:

A license is effective for one year from the effective date.

Initial licenses issued are “temporary” and are effective for up to one year from issuance. Within that first year, MDH will conduct an initial full survey to ensure that the licensee is in substantial compliance with the requirements of home care laws. If, upon the initial full survey, the licensee is found in substantial compliance, a basic or comprehensive license will be issued. If, upon the initial full survey, the licensee is found not in substantial compliance, a license will not be issued.


Length of Determination:

The Minnesota Department of Health has up to 60 days in which to grant or deny a license, once the application is deemed complete.


Other Info:
Activity: Hospice
Health Care Providers
Home Health Care
License Detail URL:

Home Care and Assisted Living

Minnesota Department of Health

    


back to top