Title: Pesticide Registration
Pesticide use or distribution in Minnesota, including sales, requires registration of each pesticide product with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA).
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:16:02 PM
Modification Date: 11/13/2019 7:43:57 AM
Agency Name: Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
Agency Description: The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
Agency Phone: 651-201-6000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
625 N. Robert Street
Division Name: Pesticide and Fertilizer Management
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Rules: 1505.0830 - .1290
Statutes: 18B.01 - Definitions
18B.26 - Pesticide Registration
18B.27 - Pesticide Registration for Special Local Needs
18B.28 - Experimental Use Pesticide Product Registration
Application for Registration of New Pesticide Products (PDF)
Fee and surcharge
- $400 for each agricultural pesticide ($350 minimum registration fee plus $50 Waste Pesticide Program surcharge).
- $475 for each non-agricultural pesticide ($350 minimum registration fee plus $125 Waste Pesticide Program surcharge) [NEW – the non-agricultural waste surcharge increased from $50 to $125 per non-agricultural pesticide product on July 1, 2017 – see the letter MDA mailed out to registrants in July 2017 for more details]
Period of Issuance: Pesticide registration period is a calendar year, January 1 – December 31. The registration fee is not pro-rated for a partial year’s registration. The full registration fee is required, regardless of the time of year the pesticide registration application is submitted.
Length of Determination: Up to two months.
License Detail URL:
Pesticide Product Registration
Registered Product Search
Licenses & Inspections Locator
Online Licensing System