skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Kennel License
Alternate Title:
Description:

Any person who operates a kennel where dogs or cats are kept, congregated or confined, must be licensed with the Board of Animal Health if the dogs or cats were obtained from municipalities, pounds, auctions, or by advertising for unwanted dogs or cats, or dogs or cats strayed, abandoned, or stolen (Minn. Stat. § 347.34).

This requirement does not apply to (1) a pound owned and operated by any political subdivision of the state, (2) a person’s home where dogs or cats are kept as pets, or (3) a veterinarian licensed to practice in the state of Minnesota who keeps, congregates, or confines dogs or cats in the normal pursuit of the practice of veterinary medicine.

Licensing requirements under this statute do not apply to training and boarding facilities, animal day care facilities or groomers. 

Minnesota Board of Animal Health (BAH).
Subject: Cats, Dogs
Kennels
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:14:07 PM
Modification Date: 2/11/2010 12:12:11 PM
Agency Name: Animal Health, Minnesota Board of
Agency URL: https://www.bah.state.mn.us/
Agency Description: The Minnesota Board of Animal Health's responsibilities include protecting the health of domestic animals of the state.
Agency Phone: 651-296-2942
Agency Fax: 651-296-7417
Agency URL: https://www.bah.state.mn.us/
Agency Address:
625 Robert Street North

St. Paul
MN
55155
Division Name: Email
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Kennel License
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-201-6824
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL: https://www.bah.state.mn.us/application-for-license-kennel/
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:

To obtain a kennel license, the owner must submit a license application to the Board of Animal Health along with a check for $15 to cover the annual license fee. 

The kennel must then be inspected by the Board of Animal Health to verify compliance with the requirements specified in Minn. Stat. § 347.31 - .40 and Minn. Rules 1721.0520.


Rules: 1721.0520

Statutes: 347.31 - .40

Forms:

Kennel License Application 

Contact the Board at 651-201-6824.


Fees:

$15 per year.

Pay Online


Period of Issuance:

Annual, January 1 – December 30.


Length of Determination: Variable.
Other Info:
Activity: Animals
Kennel
License Detail URL:

Kennels

Dogs and Cats

Minnesota Board of Animal Health


back to top