skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: OHV (Off-highway Vehicle) Registration
Alternate Title:
Description: Off-highway vehicles (OHVs) include all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), off-highway motorcycles (OHMs) and off-road vehicles (ORVs). Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
Subject: All Terrain Vehicles (ATVs)
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:15:39 PM
Modification Date: 4/9/2024 3:19:18 PM
Agency Name: Natural Resources (DNR), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.dnr.state.mn.us
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) manages the state's natural resources, hunting, fishing, state forests, state parks, lakes, rivers, streams, boating and water safety, trails, snowmobiling, skiing, education, enforcement, wildlife management, lands and minerals.
Agency Phone: 651-296-6157
888-646-6367
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.dnr.state.mn.us
Agency Address: Natural Resources (DNR), Minnesota Dept. of
500 Lafayette Rd.

St. Paul
MN 55155

Division Name: License Center
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-296-2316
800-285-2000
651-296-5484 TTY | 800-657-3929 TTY
Division Fax: Division URL:
Division Address:
500 Lafayette Rd., Box 26

St. Paul
MN 55155-4026

Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Off-highway vehicles (OHVs) include all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), off-highway motorcycles (OHMs) and off-road vehicles (ORVs).

Contact the MN Dept. of Natural Resources Information Center at 651-296-2316 or 800-285-2000 or refer to Off-highway vehicle registrations and fees

Review Off highway vehicle regulations

 2023 Off-highway vehicle regulations


Rules:
Statutes:
Forms:

Universal registration form

The registration form is available on the MN Dept. of Natural Resources (DNR) website, Off-highway Vehicle Registration and Fees section at Universal registration form


Fees:

All-terrain vehicle registration fees - effective 07/01/2017

Type of transaction Fee Issuing fee Duration
New (unregistered) 60.00 8.50 3 calendar years
Renewal only 60.00 6.00 3 calendar years
Transfer only 4.00 8.50  
Renewal & transfer 64.00 8.50  
Duplicate registration card 4.00 6.00  
Duplicate registration decal only 0.00 6.00  
Dealer's registration 50.00 8.50 1 year
Dealer's registration renewal 50.00 6.00 1 year
Manufacturer's registration 150.00 8.50 1 year
Manufacturer's registration renewal 150.00 6.00 1 year
Non-resident trail pass 30.00 1.00 1 year
Duplicate Non-resident trail pass 2.00 .50  
New Collector ATV 6.00 8.50 Non-expiring
Duplicate Collector ATV 4.00 6.00  

 

Agricultural registration fees - effective 7/1/2017

Type of transaction Fee Issuing fee Duration
New (unregistered) 6.00 8.50  
Duplicate registration card 4.00 6.00  
Duplicate registration decal only 0.00 6.00  

 

Off-road vehicle registration fees - effective 7/1/2017

Type of transaction Fee Issuing fee Duration
New (unregistered) 30.00 8.50 3 calendar years
Renewal only 30.00 6.00 3 calendar years
Transfer only 4.00 8.50  
Renewal & transfer 34.00 8.50  
Duplicate registration card 4.00 6.00  
Duplicate registration decal only 0.00 6.00  
Dealer's registration 50.00 8.50 1 year
Dealer's registration renewal 50.00 6.00 1 year
Manufacturer's registration 150.00 8.50 1 year
Manufacturer's registration renewal 150.00 6.00 1 year
30 day resident trail pass 20.00 1.00 30 days
1 year Non-resident trail pass 20.00 1.00 1 year
3 year Non-resident trail pass 30.00 1.00 3 years
Duplicate 4.00 .50  

 

Off-highway motorcycle registration fees - effective 7/1/2017

Type of transaction Fee Issuing fee Duration
New (unregistered) 30.00 8.50 3 calendar years
Renewal only 30.00 6.00 3 calendar years
Transfer only 4.00 8.50  
Renewal & transfer 34.00 8.50  
Duplicate registration card 4.00 6.00  
Duplicate registration decal only 0.00 6.00  
Dealer's registration 50.00 8.50 1 year
Dealer's registration renewal 50.00 6.00 1 year
Manufacturer's registration 150.00 8.50 1 year
Manufacturer's registration renewal 150.00 6.00 1 year
1 year Non-resident trail pass 20.00 1.00 1 year
See Off-highway vehicle registrations & fees

Period of Issuance:

Varies


Length of Determination: Immediate for most licenses.
Other Info:
Activity: Motor Vehicle
All Terrain Vehicles (ATVs)
Off-highway Vehicles (OHVs)
License Detail URL:

Off-highway vehicle registration and fees

Off-highway vehicle (OHV) riding in Minnesota

Registration procedures for new off-highway vehicle:

In person:
At any DVS (Driver and Vehicle Services) office locations (where you license a car) or at the DNR License Center.

Renew your off-highway vehicle registration:

At any DVS (Driver and Vehicle Services) office locations (where you license a car) or at the DNR License Center.

Online License Sales 

Duplicate off-highway vehicle safety cards are available:

  At DNR License Agents

  At the DNR License Center
 
  By phone 888-665-4236

  Online License Sales 

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)

 DNR Mobile Web Pages

Social Media Community

 


back to top