Title: Commercial Pesticide Applicator License
Description: Commercial pesticide applicator licenses are for pesticide applicators who apply any pesticide (including herbicides) “for hire". For hire means charging or invoicing for the service. Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA)
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:12:02 PM
Modification Date: 7/10/2019 8:29:46 AM
Agency Name: Agriculture (MDA), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
Agency Description: The mission of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is to enhance Minnesotans' quality of life by ensuring the integrity of our food supply, the health of our environment, and the strength of our agricultural economy.
Agency Phone: 651-201-6000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/
625 N. Robert Street
Division Name: Pesticide Licensing - Pesticide & Fertilizer Management
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Application URL: https://www2.mda.state.mn.us/webapp/erenewal/apply.jsp
Renewal URL: https://www2.mda.state.mn.us/webapp/erenewal/login.jsp
Individuals intending to apply pesticides in Minnesota for hire must be licensed as a commercial pesticide applicator.
To become licensed an applicant must:
Refer to MDA information:
In order to renew a license each year, applicants must complete appropriate recertification requirements. Recertification is obtained by attending MDA approved workshop(s) or by re-testing. Applicants who fail to complete recertification requirements will not be allowed to renew their license.
Minnesota law requires commercial pesticide applicators to carry a valid license identification card with them whenever applying general or restricted use pesticides. License identification cards are issued and mailed along with applicator licenses.
- Reciprocity: Minnesota issues pesticide applicator licenses via reciprocity to applicators from states with equivalent certification and licensing process.
- See Reciprocity
- Pesticide Control Law: Minn. Stat. § 18B, .01-.39.
- Agricultural Chemical Liability and Minn. Stat. Chapter 18D
See Minnesota Pesticide Law, Minn. Stat. § 18B, .01-.39, Agricultural Chemical Liability and Minn. Stat. Chapter 18D
Annual license application fee - $50 (not refundable).
Annual Agricultural Chemical Response and Reimbursement (ACRRA) surcharge - $14
Late fee of 50% of the application fee is added to the application total if RENEWAL applications are not received by the MN Department of Agriculture by March 1.
Period of Issuance:
From date of issuance through December 31.
Length of Determination: License processing time is approximately 3 weeks.
Commercial Pesticide Applicator
License Detail URL:
Pesticide Applicator Licensing
Licenses & Inspections Locator
Online Licensing System
Online Licensing and Payment Options