skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Housing with Services (HWS) Establishment Registration
Alternate Title:
Description: "Housing with services establishment" or "establishment" means an establishment providing sleeping accommodations to one or more adult residents, at least 80 percent of which are 55 years of age or older, and offering or providing, for a fee, one or more regularly scheduled health-related services or two or more regularly scheduled supportive services, whether offered or provided directly by the establishment or by another entity arranged for by the establishment. Minnesota Department of Health (MDH)
Subject: Health Care
Health Care Facilities
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:13:50 PM
Modification Date: 2/17/2010 3:46:38 PM
Agency Name: Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Health is the state's lead public health agency, responsible for protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans.
Agency Phone: 651-201-5000
888-345-0823
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Address: Health, Minnesota Dept. of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul
MN
55164-0975
Division Name: Health Regulation Division
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Licensing and Certification Program
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-201-4101
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): health.fpc-licensing@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Unit Address:
P.O. Box 64900
85 East 7th Place, Ste. 220
St. Paul
MN
55164-0900
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:

"Housing with services establishment" or "establishment" means an establishment providing sleeping accommodations to one or more adult residents, at least 80 percent of which are 55 years of age or older, and offering or providing, for a fee, one or more regularly scheduled health-related services or two or more regularly scheduled supportive services, whether offered or provided directly by the establishment or by another entity arranged for by the establishment.

An establishment that meets all the requirements of this chapter except that fewer than 80% of the adult residents are age 55 or older may, at its option, register as a housing with services establishment.

Registrations are renewed on an annual basis. Registrations are not transferable.

Refer to the Health Regulation Information Bulletins


Rules:
Statutes: 144D

Forms:

HWS Registration and Assisted Living Designation Form - 7/2016 (PDF)

Uniform Consumer Information Guide (UCIG) - 1/2014
This does not apply to a HWS establishment serving the homeless.

Addendum to HWS Registration Form - 5/2017 (PDF) 


Applications are available at Housing with Services Establishments / Assisted Living Designation / Uniform Consumer Information Guide


Fees:

$155 for each establishment address. 


Period of Issuance:

Effective date through July 31. Renewal registrations run for one year.


Length of Determination: Applications should be submitted at least 90 days prior to the anticipated date of opening.
Other Info:
Activity: Health Care Facilities
Residential Services Programs
License Detail URL:

Housing with Services Establishments / Assisted Living Designation / Uniform Consumer Information Guide

Minnesota Department of Health

    


back to top