skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter


2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Currency Exchange License (Check Cashers) / Branch License
Alternate Title:
Description: Any person engaged in the business of cashing checks, drafts, money orders or travelers’ checks for a fee, except a bank, trust company, savings bank, savings association, credit union, or industrial loan and thrift company is required to have this license. Minnesota Department of Commerce
Subject: Currency Exchange
Financial Institutions
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:12:09 PM
Modification Date: 8/3/2020 10:16:47 AM
Agency Name: Commerce, Minnesota Department of
Agency URL:
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Agency Phone: 651-539-1600
Agency Fax: Agency URL:
Agency Address:
85 7th Place East, Suite 500

St. Paul
Division Name: Financial Institutions Divisions
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-539-1570
Division Fax: Division URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
The Minnesota Department of Commerce licenses and regulates individuals and businesses that cash checks, transmit money, own and operate ATMs, and provide electronic funds transfers.
Individuals and business who currently have a currency exchange license will need to register with NMLS
Individuals and business who own or maintain an ATM will need to register with NMLS


Requirements Checklist 

Currency Exchange Branch License
Requirements Checklist 

Rules: 2872.0100

Statutes: 53A

Forms: Go to NMLS

Money Transmitters initial License application fee - $4,000. Fee is nonrefundable.

Currency Exchange & Check Cashers initial application fee - $1,500

Amendment ot license - $100

Period of Issuance:

Expires December 31 annually. See the renewal information in the requirements section above.

Length of Determination: 30 days.
Other Info:

Activity: Loans (Non-Bank Lenders)
License Detail URL:

Money Transmission

Financial Institutions

License Lookup Directory

Minnesota Department of Commerce

back to top