skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Protective Agent Services License
Alternate Title:
Description:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) - Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services


Subject: Private Detectives / Investigators
Protective Agents
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:16:30 PM
Modification Date: 3/7/2024 11:31:39 AM
Agency Name: Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Agency Phone: 651-201-7000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Address: Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Dept. of
445 Minnesota Street

St. Paul
MN
55101
Division Name: Private Detective and Protective Agent Services, Minnesota Board of
Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/Pages/default.aspx
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-793-2666
651-282-6555 TTYL
Division Fax: 651-793-7065
Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/Pages/default.aspx
Division Address:
1430 Maryland Avenue E.

St. Paul
MN 55106 |

Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:
Rules: 7506.0100 - .2900

Statutes: 326.32 - .339

Forms:

Please read the summary of licensing requirementsApplication Requirements/Procedures

To request an application packet, fill out the Application Request Form​ and submit with request fee to our office.

Officer Change Forms

Renewal Form​​​​​

  • License Renewal Packet (pdf​)

***For all renewal applications: Please note that we have updated​ our renewal to be one form, please complete the above form in accordance to your lice​nse type.​

Training Forms

  • Continuing Education Training Application (pd​f
Use the Continuing Education Training Application to submit a course for Board approval. Check the CEU box if you have already completed that course.​
  • New Training Instructor Application (p​df) ​
Use the New Training Instructor Application along with the form above to submit instructor details, or to add a new instructor to a course that has already been approved by the Board.

Extra Forms
  • Affidavits of Training (xl​)​​

  • Informed Consent Renewal Form (for license renewals only) (pdf​) (doc)

  • Informed Consent Form Template for BCA/FBI Background Check​ (doc)

  • Worker's Compensation Form (pdf​​)

  • Complaint Form (pdf)

  • Application Request Form *to download and open with Adobe, right click and choose "save as", this allows you to submit the form via email!*​ (pdf​)​


Fees:
New License                                                                                                                Reissuance

Protective Agent

Protective Agent 
Individual     $800 0 to 1 Employees  $   480
Partnership  $1,600 2 to 10 Employees  $   650
Corporation/LLC $1,800 11 to 25 Employees  $   820
26 to 50 Employees  $   990
51 or more employees 

$1,160

OFFICER CHANGES

Protective Agent
Minnesota Manager          Partnership            $800
                                          Corporation/LLC    $900


Qualified Representative   Partnership           $800
                                           Corporation/LLC   $900

CEO/CFO                                                    No Fee


OTHER

Application Fee: $25
Name Change Fee: $25


You must also provide proof of the name change on:
  • ​Your Surety Bond
  • Your Certificate of Insurance (if applicable)
  • Your updated business registry with the MN Secretary of State                                    
Make Checks Payable to:
Minnesota Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services
1430 Maryland Avenue East,
Saint Paul, MN 55106

See
 Fee Schedule

Period of Issuance:

Two years.


Length of Determination: Can vary, please contact the board office.
Other Info:
Activity: Protective Agents
License Detail URL:

Private Detective and Protective Agent Services, Minnesota Board of

Protective Agent License Holders

MN Dept. of Public Safety (DPS)


back to top