Title: Hospital and Critical Access Hospital License
Description: Minnesota Department of Health (MDH)
Subject: Health Care
Health Care Facilities
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:13:46 PM
Modification Date: 9/17/2019 3:31:22 PM
Agency Name: Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Health is the state's lead public health agency, responsible for protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans.
Agency Phone: 651-201-5000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Address: Health, Minnesota Dept. of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
Division Name: Health Regulation Division
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Licensing and Certification Program
Unit Phone: 651-201-4101
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): firstname.lastname@example.org
P.O. Box 64900
85 East 7th Place, Ste. 220
To license a new hospital, a moratorium exception under Minn. Stat. § 144.551 must be met.
A hospital must be primarily engaged in providing, by or under the supervision of a physician, inpatient diagnostic and therapeutic services or rehabilitation services.
The hospital must operate and provide services in compliance with all applicable federal, state and local laws, regulations and codes.
The State of Minnesota has adopted the Medicare Hospital Conditions of Participation as the state licensing standard.
Licenses are renewed on an annual basis. Licenses are not transferable.
License Application (PDF)
Hospital Request for Swing Beds (PDF)
Application and documents are available at Hospital and Critical Access Hospital License
Hospitals accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations pay $7,655.
Non-accredited hospitals pay $5,280 plus $250 per bed or bassinet.
All hospitals pay a $600 base fee plus $16 per bed or bassinet for the Minnesota Adverse Health Care Events Reporting Act and a $1,000 base fee plus $12 per bed or bassinet for the statewide Trauma System.
Period of Issuance:
Effective date through December 31. Renewal licenses run for a
Length of Determination: Application should be submitted at least 90 days prior to the anticipated date of opening.
Health Care Facilities
License Detail URL:
Hospital and Critical Access Hospital License
Health Regulation Division