Title: Caterer's Permit with Alcohol
Alternate Title: Caterer's Permit With Alcohol
Description: Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Subject: Alcoholic Beverages
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:11:36 PM
Modification Date: 11/10/2022 2:42:19 PM
Agency Name: Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Agency Phone: 651-201-7000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Address: Public Safety, Minnesota Dept. of
445 Minnesota Street
Division Name: Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement Division (AGED)
Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/age/Pages/default.aspx
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/age/Pages/default.aspx
445 Minnesota St., Suite 222
Must be licensed as a restaurant and hold an On-Sale Intoxicating Liquor License at an establishment in Minnesota to qualify.
Must provide a copy of a certificate of liquor liability insurance that state "cover all catered events" (NOTE - NO insurance applications forms, binders of declaration accepted).
Must notify local licensing and law enforcement authorities before catering events.
Intent is to serve food and liquor.
Must provide copy of applicant's valid On-Sale Intoxicating Liquor License and Restaurant License issued by the city and local Health Department.
Permit issued to the address of the owner's licensed on-sale establishment for off-premise catering.
Refer to Minnesota Dept. of Health information about the preparation of food:
Food, Beverage and Lodging License and Minnesota Certified Food Protection Manager
Application for Caterer's Permit
Application forms are available at Forms and Documents
Annual - $300
Period of Issuance:
Runs one year from date of issuance, validity ceases if on-sale license is no longer in effect.
Length of Determination: 30 days.
License Detail URL:
Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division (AGED)
AGED Public Data Access Search