skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter


2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Fire Standard Compliant Cigarettes (FSC) Certification
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) - State Fire Marshal
Subject: Tobacco
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:15:21 PM
Modification Date: 9/12/2019 3:14:26 PM
Agency Name: Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL:
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Agency Phone: 651-201-7000
Agency Fax: Agency URL:
Agency Address: Public Safety, Minnesota Dept. of
445 Minnesota Street

St. Paul
MN 55101

Division Name: State Fire Marshal
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-201-7200
Division Fax: 651-215-0525
Division URL:
Division Address:
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 145

St. Paul
MN 55101-5145

Unit Name: Fire Standard Compliant Cigarettes (FSC)
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s):
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:

The Minnesota FSC cigarette law went into effect on December 1, 2008.

Manufacturers must provide written certification that FSC cigarettes meet all performance standards in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 299F.851 and must pay a $250 certification fee per brand style of cigarette certified. Fees are payable to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.

Cigarettes submitted for certification must be described by:

  • Brand or trade name on the package

  • Style, such as light or ultra light

  • Length in millimeters

  • Circumference in millimeters

  • Flavor, such as menthol or chocolate, if applicable

  • Filter or non-filter

  • Package description, such as soft pack or box

  • Marking approved in accordance with section MS 299F.853

  • Name, address, and telephone number of the laboratory, if different than the manufacturer that conducted the test

  • Date the testing occurred 

Testing and Package Marking

Fire standard compliant testing must have occurred within three years of the initial certification submission date. Certifications are valid for three years from the date the certification was submitted. Manufacturers must re-certify each brand style of cigarette, and pay a $250 certification fee, every three years.

Manufacturers must provide the State Fire Marshal with a copy of the proposed package marking for FSC cigarettes. Once the proposed marking is approved, the manufacturer must provide wholesalers and distributors with a copy of the package marking.

Manufacturers must retain copies of the reports of all tests conducted on all cigarettes offered for sale for the previous three years and make copies available upon request from the State Fire Marshal, Commissioner of Revenue or the Attorney General.

Statutes: 299M.03


Candidate Information Brochure


Certification fee per brand style of certificate certified - $250 

Period of Issuance:

Three years from the date the certification was submitted.

Length of Determination:

1-2 weeks from the time the application is received.

Other Info:
Activity: Fire Protection
License Detail URL:

Fire Standard Compliant Cigarettes (FSC)

MN Dept. of Public Safety (DPS)   MN State Fire Marshal

Social Media


back to top