skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Body Art Technician Licenses
Alternate Title:
Description: The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) administers licensing for body art technicians. "Body art" or "body art procedures" means physical body adornment using, but not limited to, tattooing and body piercing. "Tattooing" includes micropigmentation and cosmetic tattooing. "Body art establishment" means any structure or venue, whether permanent, temporary, or mobile, where body art is performed.
Subject: Business
Creation Date: 7/19/2010 10:37:03 AM
Modification Date: 10/1/2021 11:05:15 AM
Agency Name: Health (MDH), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Health is the state's lead public health agency, responsible for protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans.
Agency Phone: 651-201-5000
888-345-0823
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.health.state.mn.us
Agency Address: Health, Minnesota Dept. of
625 Robert St. N.
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul
MN
55164-0975
Division Name: Health Occupations Program
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-201-3731
Division Fax: Division URL:
Division Address:
P.O. Box 64882

St. Paul
MN
55164-0882
Unit Name: Body Art Program
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s): Health.BA@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Unit Address:
P.O. Box 64882

St. Paul
MN
55164-0882
Audience: Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:
Rules:
Statutes: 146B

Forms:

For Technicians 

Announcements

Technician Information and Applications

For Establishments

Establishment Renewals

Body Art Establishment Info

Body Art Establishment Application 2017 (PDF)

Body Art Establishment Inspection Checklist (PDF)

Temporary Events 

Temporary Event Information


Fees:

Refer to Minn. Stat.§ 146B.10

Technicians

Temporary Technician license and renewal - $240

Initial Technician licensure and biennial licensure and renewal - $420

Initial Technician license fee – The commissioner shall prorate the initial two-year technician license fee based on the number of months in the initial licensure period. 

Temporary Guest Artist license - $140 Dual Body Art Technician license - $420

Fee for late submission of a technician renewal application - $150

Technical violation fee for practicing body art after a body art license has expired and before it is renewed - $200 for any part of the first month, plus $200 for any part of any subsequent month up to one year. Continued practice or operation after one year becomes a disciplinary violation.

Technical violation fee for practicing body art after a temporary body art license has expired and before it is renewed - $100 for any part of the first month, plus $100 for any part of any subsequent month up to six months. Continued practice or operation after six months becomes a disciplinary violation.


Establishments

Initial Establishment license and two year license renewal period - $1,500 

Provisional Establishment license: $1,500

Temporary Body Art Establishment Event permit - $200

The commissioner shall prorate the first renewal fee for the establishment license based on the number of months from issuance of the provisional license to the first renewal.

Verification of Licensure to Other States - $25

Reissuance of a provisional establishment license that relocates prior to inspection and removal of provisional status - $350. The expiration date of the provisional license does not change.

Change an establishment name or establishment type, such as tattoo, piercing, or dual - $50 Fee for late submission of an establishment renewal application - $300

The technical violation fee for operating a body art establishment after the license has expired and before it is renewed - $300 for any part of the first month, plus $300 for any part of any subsequent month up to six months. Continued practice or operation after six months becomes a disciplinary violation.


Period of Issuance:

Technicians

Full Technician's licenses may be valid for up to two years.

a) The validity is based on the month the applicant applies for the license and based on the month the initial application fee is prorated.
     All full technician licenses expire on March 31st and may be renewed upon payment of the renewal fee established under Minn. Stat. § 146B.10

(b) At renewal, a licensee must submit proof of continuing education approved by the commissioner in the areas identified in Minn. Stat. § 146B.03

(c) The commissioner shall notify the technician of the pending expiration of a technician license at least 60 days prior to license expiration.

(d) A technician previously licensed in Minnesota whose license has lapsed for less than six years may apply to renew. A technician previously licensed in Minnesota whose license has lapsed for less than ten years and who was licensed in another jurisdiction or jurisdictions during the entire time of lapse may apply to renew, but must submit proof of licensure in good standing in all other jurisdictions in which the technician was licensed as a body artist during the time of lapse. A technician previously licensed in Minnesota whose license has lapsed for more than six years and who was not continuously licensed in another jurisdiction during the period of Minnesota lapse must reapply for licensure under Minn. Stat. § 146B.03

Temporary Technician license issued under this subdivision is valid for one year and may be renewed for one additional year twice.

Guest Artist license may not conduct body art procedures for more than 30 days per calendar year. If the guest artist exceeds this time period, the guest artist must apply for a technician's license.

Establishments

If the information submitted is complete and complies with the requirements of this chapter, the commissioner shall issue a provisional establishment license. The provisional license is effective until the commissioner determines, after inspection, that the applicant has met the requirements of this chapter. Upon approval, the commissioner shall issue a body art establishment license.

An establishment license must be renewed every two years.

Temporary Body Art Event: No event may last more than 21 days.


Length of Determination:
Other Info:
Activity: Restaurants
Food
Food Service
License Detail URL:

Body Art

Health Care Facilities, Providers and Insurance

Current Body Art Licenses

Minnesota Department of Health

    


back to top