skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter


2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Motor Vehicle Registration
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Subject: Motor Vehicle Dealers
Private Vehicles
Recreational Vehicles
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:15:18 PM
Modification Date: 11/10/2022 5:49:24 PM
Agency Name: Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL:
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Agency Phone: 651-201-7000
Agency Fax: Agency URL:
Agency Address: Public Safety, Minnesota Dept. of
445 Minnesota Street

St. Paul
MN 55101

Division Name: Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-297-2126
651-282-6555 TTY
Division Fax: Division URL:
Division Address:
445 Minnesota St., Suite 190

St. Paul
MN 55101-5190
Unit Name: Title and Registration
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-297-2126
651-282-6555 TTY
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:

New Resident - Applying for Vehicle Registration:

New residents have a 60 day grace period, per Minn. Stat. § 168.012, subd. 8, in which to register their passenger vehicle. This includes passenger vans and 3/4 ton or less pickups, motorcycles, utility trailers, or travel trailers so long as the license plates displayed on the vehicle are current. If registration expires before the 60 day period is up, new resident must obtain Minnesota registration immediately.

Information needed to register a vehicle in Minnesota

>Current vehicle title or if the title is not available, the current registration card:
~If title reflects a lien and it has been paid, the lien release can be submitted at this time.
~If title is being held by a lending institution, surrender the current registration card. Please note that a Minnesota title will not be issued until surrender of the foreign state title.

>If the vehicle is in joint ownership, only one owner is required to sign the Minnesota application.

>Odometer reading on your vehicle.

>Driver's license or acceptable form of identification.

>If leasing the vehicle, also need to provide a copy of the leasing agreement or a Power of Attorney from the leasing company to person registering the vehicle and their Minnesota Tax ID number.

>Additional requirements apply to title transfers (where ownership is changed).

Insurance Requirements

The Minnesota No-Fault Act, Minn. Stat. § 65B.48, requires owners of motor vehicles to maintain No-Fault insurance. The law makes it a crime for an owner to operate or permit operation of an uninsured motor vehicle or motorcycles upon public road, street, or highway. Violation of the law can result in fines or imprisonment and revocation of driving privileges and motor vehicle license plates. Minnesota Law (Minn. Stat. § 169.791) requires that proof of insurance be in the vehicle at all times and shown to a peace officer upon demand. Insurance information is required when registering, re-registering or transferring ownership of a motor vehicle (Minn. Stat. § 169.798)

Statutes: 168


​​PS2000A ​Application to Title and Register a Motor Vehicle - (01/2021)
(Important Note: The State of Minnesota does not title junked vehicles.)

Application is available at Forms/Documents/Manuals at Motor Vehicle Forms


The typical application fees for a vehicle already registered and titled in your name are:

Title fee - $7.25 (an additional $2 is due to record a lien)
Public Safety Vehicle Fee - $3.50
Filing Fee - $10
License plate fee - $6 ($4.50 for single plate issue - such as trailers and motorcycles)

Registration Tax: Minnesota has an "ad valorem", (Latin for “according to its value”), registration tax system for passenger class vehicles. The age of the vehicle also is a factor in determining passenger registration tax: The minimum tax for vehicles 10 years old and older is $35.

To determine registration tax you may contact MN Dept. of Public Safety (DPS) central office at  651-297-2126 or any Deputy Registrar office.

Period of Issuance:

Typically for 12 months.

Length of Determination:

Approximately 14 business days.

Other Info:
Activity: Motor Vehicle
License Detail URL:

Vehicle Registration

Driver and Vehicle Services

Office locations

MN Dept. of Public Safety (DPS)

Social Media

back to top