skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Commercial Driver's License (CDL) School Bus Endorsement
Alternate Title: CDL (Commercial Driver's License) School Bus Endorsement
Description: Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Subject: Commercial Drivers
Commercial Vehicles
Drivers
Drivers' License
School Bus Endorsement
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:11:59 PM
Modification Date: 9/17/2019 1:05:03 PM
Agency Name: Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Agency Phone: 651-201-7000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Address: Public Safety, Minnesota Dept. of
445 Minnesota Street

St. Paul
MN 55101

Division Name: Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)
Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/default.aspx
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-297-5029
651-282-6555 TTY
Division Fax: Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/default.aspx
Division Address:
445 Minnesota St., Suite 190

St. Paul
MN 55101-5190

Audience: Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Be 18 years old for intrastate passenger or school bus transportation.

Be 21 years of age for interstate transportation.

Be physically qualified.

Complete Commercial Drivers' License self-certification form and provide a valid U.S. DOT medical examiner's certificate from a certified medical examiner.  

Before issuing or renewing a school bus endorsement, the commissioner shall conduct a criminal history and driver's license records check of the applicant. The check must consist of a criminal history check of the state criminal records repository and a check of the driver's license records system. If the applicant has resided in Minnesota for less than five years, the check must also include a national criminal history check. The commissioner shall accept the national criminal history check request and the fingerprints of the applicant and is authorized to exchange fingerprints with the Federal Bureau of Investigation and request the Federal Bureau of Investigation to conduct a criminal history check.

Pass CDL knowledge and endorsements tests.

Pass a road test in a school bus of a size applicant intends to drive. 

Pay fees and make application.

Have no disqualifying convictions on driving record.

One license issued, others must be invalidated.

Knowledge test for School Bus is required at time of license renewal. 


View Commercial Driver's License Endorsements and Restrictions information and the Minnesota Commercial Driver's Manual, Section 1, Part B: Minnesota School Bus Driver's Handbook

Minnesota Commercial Driver's Manual


Rules: 7414.0100 - .2100

Statutes: 171.02
171.321

Forms:

View DVS Forms/Documents/Manuals, Driver's License Forms section.


Fees:

Class A - $44.25
Class B - $36.25
Class C - $29.25 

Under 21 years of age (Intrastate only):
Class A - $24.25 
Class B - $36.25
Class C - $29.25

Endorsement fee of $2.50 due at time of passing the Passenger and School Bus knowledge tests.

School bus processing fee of $4.00 due at time of license application.

Driver must comply with all motor carrier physical certification requirements to drive a commercial vehicle.

Also refer to Minn. Stat. § 171.07, subd.1B; Minn. Stat. § 171.10, subd.2; Minn. Stat. § 171.162Minn. Stat. § 171.165Minn. Stat. § 171.168Minn. Stat. § 171.169Minn. Stat. § 221.025Minn. Stat. § 221.031 and Minn. Stat. § 221.0314


Period of Issuance:

Commercial driver's licenses always expire on the applicant's birthday and must be renewed every four years once they have reached the age of 21.


Length of Determination: Ten days to two weeks.
Other Info:
Activity: Carriers
Commercial Drivers
MN Drivers License
Drivers License
School Bus Endorsement
License Detail URL:

Driver and Vehicles Services

Online Services

MN Dept. of Public Safety (DPS)

Social Media


back to top