skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter


2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Catastrophe Adjuster Registration
Alternate Title: Adjuster Registration
Description: A catastrophe adjuster (“cat adjuster”) is an unlicensed individual who is hired by an insurance company to adjust claims after an emergency (usually a natural disaster) creates so many insured losses that the insurer’s staff adjusters and the available independent adjusters cannot adjust all of the associated claims in a reasonable amount of time. Under Minnesota law, a catastrophe adjuster is defined indirectly as a “person who is otherwise qualified to adjust claims, but not already licensed in Minnesota,” who “may act as an emergency independent adjuster and adjust claims” when “due to a specific, infrequent, and sudden natural or man-made disaster or phenomenon, there have arisen losses to property in Minnesota that are covered by insurance, and the losses are so numerous and severe that resolution of claims related to such covered property losses will not occur expeditiously without the licensing of emergency independent adjusters due to the magnitude of the catastrophic damage.” Minnesota Department of Commerce
Subject: Adjuster
Insurance Professionals
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:11:34 PM
Modification Date: 9/13/2019 8:40:02 AM
Agency Name: Commerce, Minnesota Department of
Agency URL:
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Agency Phone: 651-539-1600
Agency Fax: Agency URL:
Agency Address:
85 7th Place East, Suite 500

St. Paul
Unit Name: Licensing Unit
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-539-1599
Unit Fax: Contact person(s):
Unit URL:
Audience: Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:


Complete the Catastrophe Adjuster Registration application online at Sircon 

See Adjusters -Catastrophe

Catastrophe adjusters must register within 5 days of beginning to adjust in Minnesota. 

See Minn. Stat. § 72B.06 for the definition of catastrophe.

Statutes: 72B


Complete the Catastrophe Adjuster Registration application online at Sircon    


Catastrophe Adjuster - $20

Period of Issuance:

Catastrophe Adjuster: Maximum 180 days; may be extended for 180 days.

Length of Determination: 1 - 2 weeks.
Other Info:
Activity: Insurance
License Detail URL:


Insurance Licensing


License Lookup Directory

Minnesota Department of Commerce

back to top