skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Medical Gas Certification Registration
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI)
Subject: Medical Gas Distribution
Plumbers
Water Conditioning
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:18:30 PM
Modification Date: 8/11/2010 2:27:57 PM
Agency Name: Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) oversees the state's apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards and workers' compensation programs and the Office of Combative Sports (OCS).
Agency Phone: 651-284-5005
800-342-5354
Agency Fax: Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Address:
443 Lafayette Road N.

St. Paul
MN 55155

Division Name: Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Licensing and Certification Services
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-284-5031
Unit Fax: Contact person(s): dli.license@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:

MEDICAL GAS CERTIFICATION

A contractor offering to perform or performing medical gas installations, maintenance or repair must be licensed by our agency as a plumbing contractor

Individuals working for a plumbing contractor performing medical gas installations, maintenance or repair must obtain a medical gas certification.

To obtain the certification, you must be a "certified installer."  That means you have met:

  • The requirements of ASSE 6010 Medical Gas System Installers,
  • The brazing qualifications as defined in NFPA 99C
  • And are currently certified to this standard and qualification by National Inspection Testing Certification (NITC) or by a recognized third party agency.

Individuals who were a certified installer on Aug. 1, 2010, may apply for their certification whether or not they are a licensed plumber. 

An individual who became a certified installer after Aug. 1, 2010, must have an active master plumber or journeyman plumber license to apply for medical gas certification.

The initial registration fee is $54.80. The renewal fee is $74.80.

Applicants who were a certified installer on Aug. 1, 2010, are required to submit a copy of documentation verifying certification on Aug. 1, 2010, a copy of their current certification card along with a completed Medical Gas Certification Application Form

Applicants who are licensed plumbers must have a current plumbing license along with a copy of their current installer certification card and a completed Medical Gas Certification Application Form

Continuing education required for renewal

Renewal of a medical gas installer certification requires four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period. 

The required instruction must pertain to the technical topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems per chapter NFPA 99 or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438. Approved continuing education courses completed to fulfill a plumber license renewal requirements may also be used to fulfill the medical gas certification renewal requirement. 

View a directory of approved continuing education courses


Rules: 4716.0070

Statutes: 326B.438

Forms:

Medical Gas Certification Application Form


Fees:

Initial registration fee - $54.80

Renewal fee is $74.80


Period of Issuance:



Length of Determination:
Other Info:
Activity: Medical Gas
License Detail URL:

Medical Gas Certification

Plumbing and Mechanical Contractors

Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry (DLI)


back to top